Jason Plato topped the first practice session at Silverstone ahead of the penultimate rounds of the BTCC season.

The MG man was a tenth of a second up on Dave Newsham's Toyota, with defending champion Gordon Shedden in third.

Points leader Andy Jordan was sixth.

A number of drivers, including Adam Morgan and Aron Smith, were blackflagged for exceeding track limits at turn one.

1. Jason Plato MG KX Momentum Racing MG6 GT 58.498secs
2. Dave Newsham Speedworks Toyota Avensis 58.616secs
3. Gordon Shedden Honda Yuasa Racing Honda Civic 58.915secs
4. Frank Wrathall Dynojet Toyota Avensis 58.936secs
5. Tom Onslow-Cole Airwaves Racing Ford Focus 58.945secs
6. Andrew Jordan Pirtek Racing Honda Civic 58.978secs
7. Matt Neal Honda Yuasa Racing Honda Civic 58.980secs
8. Sam Tordoff MG KX Momentum Racing MG6 GT 59.088secs
9. Colin Turkington eBay Motors BMW 125i M-Sport 59.095secs
10. Adam Morgan Ciceley Racing Toyota Avensis 59.223secs
11. Jeff Smith Pirtek Racing Honda Civic 59.249secs
12. Howard Fuller RCIB Insurance Racing Vauxhall Insignia 59.345secs
13. Ollie Jackson Speedworks Toyota Avensis 59.350secs
14. Warren Scott BMR Restart Volkswagen CC 59.356secs
15. Mat Jackson Airwaves Racing Ford Focus 59.394secs
16. Rob Austin Wix Racing Audi A4 59.474secs
17. Andy Neate Team Club 44 Chevrolet Cruze 59.504secs
18. Will Bratt Rob Austin Racing Audi A4 59.602secs
19. Aron Smith Airwaves Racing Ford Focus 59.634secs
20. Jack Goff RCIB Insurance Racing Vauxhall Insignia 59.673secs
21. Dan Welch Welch Automotive Proton Gen-2 59.732secs
22. Rob Collard eBay Motors BMW 125i M-Sport 59.736secs
23. Nick Foster eBay Motors BMW 125i M-Sport 1min 00.054secs
24. Lea Wood Wheel Heaven/Houseman Racing Vauxhall Vectra 1min 00.220secs S
25. Liam Griffin Addison Lee Motorbase Ford Focus 1min 00.590secs S
26. Aiden Moffat PPCGB.com/Kraftwerk Racing Volkswagen CC 1min 01.424secs

S denotes S2000 car in the Jack Sears Trophy


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment