Cars »

WS: Fleming sets day two pace before early exit.

The afternoon belonged to Spanish F3 champion Soucek, who continued his strong test by recording the fastest time at 1min 26.'775secs to head Valsecchi and Garcia in the top three. Maldonado was fourth fastest, while Carlin's early departure meant that Fleming could not better 19th.

Valsecchi held top spot until the closing minutes of the test, when Soucek stole ahead of him in the Interwetten car. The Spaniard showed well in all four sessions, suggesting that he could be the surprise package of 2006, but there are others - Valsecchi included - who could lay claim to rookie honours.

Garcia, Rossiter, Sean McIntosh, Robbie Kerr, Parente, Aleshin and Kane, all newcomers to the series this year, completed the top ten, with only Maldonado upholding second year honour, while Jouanny also reported himself satisfied with his personal progress.

There were problems, however, for Maldonado's Draco team-mate Tomas Kostka, who lost an engine, Danielsson and Fukuda, while Pascal Kochem, Hanley and Pavlovic all lost valuable time.

Leading performances (23 March) - Barcelona:

Colin Fleming Carlin 1min 26.193secs 1min 28.996secs
Pastor Maldonado Draco 1min 26.226secs 1min 27.188secs
Davide Valsecchi Epsilon Euskadi 1min 26.275secs 1min 26.829secs
Borja Garcia RC 1min 26.442secs 1min 27.058secs
Andy Soucek 1min 26.836secs 1min 26.775secs
Ben Hanley Cram 1min 26.683secs 1min 28.113secs
Mihael Aleshin Carlin 1min 26.830secs 1min 27.827secs
Alx Danielsson Comtec 1min 26.991secs 1min 29.445secs
Alvaro Parente Victory 1min 27.353secs 1min 27.755secs
Christian Montanari Prema 1min 27.470secs 1min 28.332secs
James Rossiter Pons 1min 28.477secs 1min 27.524secs
Ryo Fukuda Tech 1 1min 27.575secs 1min 28.860secs
Sean McIntosh KTR 1min 27.714secs 1min 27.624secs
Steven Kane Epsilon Euskadi 1min 27.732secs 1min 27.835secs
Robbie Kerr KTR 1min 27.846secs 1min 27.740secs
Hayanari Shimoda Victory 1min 27.885secs 1min 28.355secs
Alvaro Barba Jenzer 1min 27.927secs 1min 29.005secs
Bruce Jouanny RC 1min 27.946secs 1min 28.242secs
Patrick Pilet GD 1min 28.144secs 1min 27.947secs
Milos Pavlovic Cram 1min 27.980secs 1min 28.626secs
Tomas Kostka Draco 1min 28.045secs no time
Gregory Franchi Prema 1min 28.054secs 1min 30.238secs
Eric Salignon 1min 30.304secs 1min 28.301secs
Matteo Meneghello GD 1min 28.492secs 1min 29.501secs
Pascal Kochem Eurointernational 1min 28.576secs 1min 29.707secs
Celso Miguez Pons 1min 28.980secs 1min 29.182secs
Alessandro Bonetti Jenzer 1min 29.300secs 1min 29.130secs
Jerome d'Ambrosio Tech 1 1min 29.305secs 1min 30.385secs
Tor Graves Eurointernational 1min 31.172secs 1min 30.671secs
Edwin Jowsey Comtec 1min 31.355secs 1min 30.974secs

[Times displayed AM/PM, with fastest in bold]

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Colin Fleming ran with Carlin Motorsport at the Valencia WS test
Pastor Maldonado - Draco Multiracing USA   [pic credit: Renault Sport media]
Davide Valsecchi - Epsilon Euskadi     [pic credit: Renault Sport media]
Oli Jarvis and Trevor Carlin

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.