Oliver Jarvis has secured his place in DTM history after becoming the first driver to snare pole position at the wheel of a year old car, with the Team Phoenix driver heading a British 1-2 on the grid at Zandvoort.

On a day when Audi's top-line drivers struggled, the former single-seater ace produced an impressive performance to make it through to the final stage of qualifying at the wheel of his 2008-spec A4 DTM and then posted a quickest time of 1min 31.966secs to snare pole ahead of Mercedes man Gary Paffett by more than half a second.

Bruno Spengler will start from the second row of the grid, while Mike Rockenfeller - also at the wheel of a year old Audi - will join the Canadian on the second row of the grid.

Related Articles

Paul di Resta will start from fifth on the grid ahead of Alex Premat and Jamie Green, while Martin Tomczyk was the quickest driver in a 2009-spec Audi but starts down in eighth place on the grid.

Mattias Ekstrom, Tom Kristensen and Timo Scheider all failed to make it past the second phase of qualifying and fill positions nine to eleven on the grid ahead of the 2008 machines of Markus Winkelhock, Susie Stoddart and Kathernine Legge.

Legge found herself in the thick of the action during the session after a collision on pit road with Scheider as the Briton came in to change tyres and the reigning champion was released from his pit stall in front of the former Champ Car racer.

Maro Engel starts 15th ahead of Kolles duo Tomas Kostka and Christian Bakkerud, while Mattias Lauda and Ralf Schumacher start at the back after a coming together during the first phase of qualifying.