The DTM championship continues with its international expansion as Russia, for the first time, will play host to the popular tin-top touring car series at the Moscow Raceway in 2013.

The Russian circuit, which has also hosted the World Series by Renault, will feature as race number seven of an increased eleven round series next year.

"For DTM, the race in Moscow is an important step on the way to breaking into new markets," says chairman of the ITR, Hans Werner Aufrecht.

"For the series and our manufacturers - Audi, BMW and Mercedes-Benz - racing in a country such as Moscow represents a big chance of presenting themselves internationally in front of a new crowd."

Six of the eleven races will as usual take place on German soil while eight of the nine 2012 venues keep their places on the calendar.

The whereabouts of the Spanish round, which was held in Valencia this season, has yet to be confirmed.

Munich's non-points paying stadium event has been scrapped due to the impossibility of making the round a championship worthy event.

2013 DTM calendar*

5th May Hockenheimring Baden-W?rttemberg (D)
19th May Brands Hatch (GB)
2nd June Red Bull Ring Spielberg (A)
16th June Lausitzring (D)
7th July Norisring (D)
21st July Circuit Park Zandvoort (NL)
4th August Moscow (RUS)
18th August N?rburgring (D)
15th September Motorsport Arena Oschersleben (D)
29th September TBA
20th October Hockenheimring Baden-W?rttemberg (D)
*subject to FIA approval

by Simon Evans