BMW's Marco Wittmann has edged out Augusto Farfus to claim a stunning debut DTM pole at Zandvoort.

Wittmann, who has threatened to hit the front already this season, posted a 1 minute 30.894 second lap to finally claim his first pole in the series.

The BMW-rookie has previously been denied by his team mate Farfus, but a red-hot first sector gave the young German the edge on this occasion.

Farfus, the last man to set a time during Q4, did set two fastest sectors on his hot lap but was unable to reverse the gap his rookie team mate established early in the lap.

Champion elect Mike Rockenfeller looks to be in prime position to collect his maiden DTM title as the German qualified an ever consistent third and sits just behind the only man who can spoil the Audi party tomorrow, Farfus.

Timo Scheider made a welcome return to Q4 on a track which has traditionally suited the popular former double-champ to qualify fourth.

Scheider had looked in contention for a front-row slot but his ABT-run Audi went off the circuit during the penultimate corner, putting two wheels on the grass in the process, costing the German any chance of pole.

Joey Hand qualified a strong fifth position for BMW narrowly ahead, to the sum of four-thousandths, of Audi's Filipe Albuquerque in sixth with Edoardo Mortara following close behind in seventh.

BMW's Timo Glock posted his best DTM qualifying performance to date in eighth just ahead of Adrien Tambay in ninth.

Miguel Molina completes the top-ten in tenth for Audi.

Gary Paffett faces a difficult race tomorrow as the Brit, amazingly, starts the race as the top Mercedes in a lowly twelfth position.

Andy Priaulx displayed a slight upturn in form, qualifying 15th just ahead of BMW team mate Bruno Spengler, who qualified a season low in 16th position.