DTM Nürburgring: Wittmann on pole for BMW at Nurburgring

DTM championship leader Marco Wittmann takes his third pole of the season at the Nurburgring for BMW.
BMW's Marco Wittmann has furthered strengthened his championship credentials by taking his third DTM pole-position of the season at the Nurburgring.

Wittmann, as he has been for most of the year, was in dominant form during the three sessions despite being the heaviest of the front-runners with 20 kilograms of success ballast onboard his RMG M4.

His 1 minute 22.780 second pole-position time was the fastest ever recorded DTM qualifying lap around the Nurburgring circuit.

Amazingly, however, the championship leader was the only BMW to make it into the top ten as the German led a five-strong Audi freight train behind him.

Abt's Edoardo Mortara shares the front row with the RMG-run M4 while defending champion Mike Rockenfeller was third fastest for home team Phoenix.

Rosberg's Jamie Green was next in the Audi queue after setting the fourth fastest time ahead of Timo Scheider in fifth who made it two Phoenix-run RS5's to qualify in the top five.

Miguel Molina was sixth fastest ahead of the Mercedes trio led by Daniel Juncadella in seventh.

Former F1 star Paul di Resta and Christian Vietoris consolidated a strong showing from Mercedes to line their HWA C-Coupes to the rear of the top ten in eighth and ninth.

DTM rookie Nico Muller was the final man to make the top ten running in tenth.

Not for the first time this season, Wittmann's nearest championship challenger, Mattias Ekstrom, has left himself a lot of work to do come Sunday afternoon after failing to make it out of Q1.

Q1 had started wet but with the track-conditions constantly improving Ekstrom, as did the rest of field, opted for slick rubber, but the Swede failed to optimise the extra grip and trailed 1.5 seconds off the Q2 benchmark in 22nd.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Marco Wittmann - BMW RMG [pic credit: DTM Media]
Pascal Wehrlein - gooix Mercedes C-Coupe [pic credit DTM Media]
Marco Wittmann (GER), BMW Team RMG, DTM [Credit: DTM]
DTM - Zandvoort [pic credit DTM Media]
DTM - Nurburgring [pic credit DTM Media]
Nico Muller - Rosberg Audi RS 5 DTM [pic credit Audi Media]
Lucas Auer - Mercedes AMG C63 DTM [pic credit Mercedes Media]
Jamie Green - Rosberg Audi [pic credit Audi Media]
Dieter Gass, Audi Sport, DTM [Credit: Audi Sport]
DTM - Hockenheimring [pic credit DTM Media]
ART Grand Prix, DTM [Credit: Mercedes-Benz DTM]
Gotz at Mercedes
Esteban Ocon poses with the Mercedes DTM car at Jerez. Pic credit: Daimler
Charles Pic poses next to a Mercedes DTM car at Jerez. Pic credit: Daimler
AMG Mercedes C-Coupe [pic credit Mercedes]
AMG Mercedes C-Coupe [pic credit DTM Media]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.