Mercedes' Pascal Wehrlein has earned his first ever DTM pole-position after beating Audi's Mattias Ekstrom to the top-spot at the Euro-Speedway Lausitz.

With the teams already on the back foot following the lengthy fog delay, which cost the field most of their practice running, qualifying also saw a re-jig in it's usual schedule after BMW's Joey Hand spun early in Q1, causing a red flag.

As the session was only two-minutes old, Q1 was suspended and the remaining time was moved forward into Q2, which led to a thrilling 22-car battle for a Q3 slot - exactly one-second covered the entire DTM field, minus the stricken Hand.

Related Articles

Following Q2, Abt's Ekstrom had looked favourite to start tomorrow's race from first position as the former double-champion set a hot pace to lead the timesheets after his opening run.

While Ekstrom did improve slightly on his second run, Wehrlein went even faster to set a 1 minute 17.541 second lap to assert his authority around the Lausitzring circuit. The Swede almost found an answer for the young German's C-Coupe but ultimately fell just five-hundredths short.

Briton Jamie Green enjoyed another strong showing in Rosberg-run RS5 to qualify third on the grid. He shares the second row with Phoenix's Timo Scheider in fourth position.

Daniel Juncadella was in menacing form all session but could only manage fifth albeit only two-tenths off his Mercedes team mate Wehrlein. Miguel Molina made it an all-Spanish third row on the grid after qualifying his Audi sixth for tomorrow's race.

DTM champion-elect Marco Wittmann was the BMW runner in seventh despite the M4's dominating the previous 15-minute free-practice.

Wittmann could win the championship this weekend should the RMG-man score eleven or more points than Ekstrom, but faces an uphill task with Audi man on the front row.

Gary Paffett was third and final Mercedes to make the top ten in eighth ahead of BMW's Timo Glock in ninth.

Glock dramatically lost his Q3 slot after being knocked out by a last lap flyer from Audi's Molina.

Reigning champion Mike Rockenfeller, unable to match Phoenix team mate Scheider's form, rounds out the top ten in tenth.