Audi's Mike Rockenfeller has denied the man who has taken his DTM crown away from this season pole-position at the Zandvoort after piping Marco Wittmann in an ultra-tight qualifying showdown.

Rockenfeller has been out of sorts for much of the season despite a promising start to his title defence but the 2013 champion has seemed to regain some momentum after powering his Phoenix to a 1 minute 30.713 lap around Zandvoort - handing the German his first pole of 2014.

Despite being beaten to pole, the newly crowned champion, Wittmann still lurks menacingly behind and shares the front row with Rockenfeller.

Related Articles

Behind the champion pairing, it was an all Audi second row occupied by Mattias Ekstrom and Jamie Green in third and fourth. Ekstrom took his first DTM victory at the famous Dutch circuit back in 2002 and is in prime position to go for a fourth Zandvoort success.

Yet another Audi locks out a near all 'four ringed' top five as Nico Muller ended the session in fifth for Team Rosberg. Muller had set the practice pace but couldn't replicate an improvement worthy enough for pole. The DTM rookie shares the third row with Mercedes' Pascal Wehrlein in sixth.

Posting their best DTM qualifying performances for sometime was Martin Tomczyk and Joey Hand to make it an all BMW fourth row while Audi's Miguel Molina was ninth for Team Abt. Britain's Gary Paffett completed the top ten for Mercedes.