2014 DTM champion Marco Wittmann sets the FP2 pace as BMW gain the initiative at the Hockenheimring ahead of qualifying.

Wittmann was able to knock seven-tenths from his previous FP1 best to produce a 1 minute 33.585 second lap around the Hockenheimring as the pendulum swung back into BMW's favour.

America's Joey Hand made it a BMW one-two after setting a time just one-tenth slower than his younger German team mate.

Related Articles

Next up was the two Audi's of Miguel Molina and Mike Rockenfeller in third and fourth positions. Only half-a-tenth could separate the two RS5 machines.

Team MTEK's Antonio Felix da Costa maintained his presence within the top by jumping further forward into fifth. He was followed by Abt's Adrien Tambay, who was sixth for the second time today.

Timo Glock guided his MTEK M4 into seventh position ahead of Rosberg's Nico Muller and Team Schnizter's Bruno Spengler in eighth and ninth.

FP1's pace setter Mattias Ekstrom could only manage tenth in his Abt run RS5. Ekstrom fell behind everyone else's rate of progression from the morning session.

Britain's Gary Paffett managed to improve his Hockenheim prospects after posting a time good enough for eleventh. Paffett had languished in 21st position earlier in the day.