BMW motorsport director Jens Marquardt says his manufacturer's driver line up for the upcoming DTM season is 'the best we could wish for'.

The German manufacturer took the drivers' and teams' championship titles in 2014, after Marco Wittmann was crowned DTM champion for the first time. Marquardt is optimistic for the new season and believes his drivers have the capability to repeat last year's success.

"We go into the new season with a very strong driver line-up," said BMW motorsport director Jens Marquardt. "This is the best line-up we could wish for. In total, our eight drivers have racked up 334 races and 31 victories in the DTM."

Related Articles

BMW has given its' teams a small shake up for 2015, with Antonio Felix da Costa and Bruno Spengler switching race seats between Schnitzer and MTEK, and American Joey Hand has been replaced by British rookie Tom Blomqvist at RBM. BMW's RMG team remains unchanged after claiming the 2014 teams' title, with Wittmann teaming up with Maxime Martin once again.

"We have a good mix of young and experienced drivers, who are all capable of making their mark on the series," he added. "At the end of every season we analyse whether and how we can make any minor changes to tease a little more out of the overall set-up.

"We remain true to our philosophy that we can only enjoy long-term success in the DTM with four teams of equal strength. We have had positive experiences with this approach in the past. We are confident that we have found the ideal line-up for the 2015 season, in which we will face a number of new challenges with the new format of the race weekends."

BMW re-joined the DTM series in 2012 with the M3 and immediately made a clean sweep of the drivers', teams' and manufacturer titles. Last year the German production team upgraded its cars to the M4 as Wittmann claimed his first DTM crown.

The nine-round DTM season commences at Hockenheim on 2-3 May.