Click here for full DTM FP1 results from Oschersleben

Augusto Farfus has set the benchmark to beat in the opening practice session at Oschersleben as BMW completely dominate the DTM field.

The Brazilian pinched top spot ahead of Antonio Felix da Costa as BMW made a clean sweep of the spot four spots during the first practice session. Maxime Martin ended the session third, less than a tenth of a second off Farfus, with British driver Tom Blomqvist in fourth.

Related Articles

Former DTM championship leader Pascal Wehrlein was the first non-BMW driver on the timesheet in fifth ahead of fellow Mercedes-powered drivers Paul di Resta and Christian Vietoris.

The BMW domination continued with MTEK's Timo Glock in eighth and RMG BMW Macro Wittmann in ninth as Gary Paffett rounded out the top ten spots.

Current DTM series leader Mattias Ekstrom had a frustrating session down in 17th ahead of Timo Schieder in 19th who made a timid return to action after being banned for one race weekend by organisers for his part in the 'push him out' controversy at the Red Bull Ring in August.