Mercedes appears to be the only DTM squad likely to make a change to its line-up ahead of the 2016 campaign, as BMW joined Audi in announcing that it would remain unchanged.

Outlining its entire 2016 BMW Motorsport programme, the German marque confirmed that it had no intention of tweaking its eight-man squad after recovering from a difficult start to the 2015 season to win the DTM manufacturers' title.

All four BMW teams, and five different drivers, claimed race wins this season, as the marque improved its performance over the course of the year, eventually achieving the marque's goal of being more successful across the board with the BMW M4 DTM than in 2014.

Related Articles

As a result, and in order to continue a DTM success story that has seen it win seven of a possible twelve titles since 2012, BMW Motorsport is putting its faith in the same four teams and eight drivers as in 2015. Marco Wittmann, Maxime Martin, Bruno Spengler, Timo Glock, Augusto Farfus, Tom Blomqvist, Ant?nio F?lix da Costa and Martin Tomczyk will thus be behind the wheel of cars run by the RMG, MTEK, RBM and Schnitzer teams in 2016.

"We definitely have an exciting 2016 motorsport season ahead of us," BMW Motorsport director Jens Marquardt admitted, "For one thing, BMW will be 100 years old, and that obviously gives us extra motivation to present the brand with as much success as possible to mark its anniversary.

"Now in our fifth DTM season since returning to the series, we are putting our faith in continuity within our squad of drivers and teams. 'Never change a winning team' is our motto for 2016, when we hope to achieve more wins and titles."

A handful of the DTM squad will also double up with sportscar outings, with Farfus and Spengler supporting the regular BMW Team RLL squad at the Daytona 24 Hours. The pair will join Indycar star Graham Rahal in linking up with the unchanged quartet of Bill Auberlen, Dirk Werner, John Edwards and Lucas Luhr at the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship season-opener, driving the BMW M6 in the GTLM class.

Wittman and Martin, meanwhile, will bolster the Turner Motorsport squad in the GTD class, running alongside BMW works driver Jens Klingmann and Jesse Krohn.