Robert Wickens and Mercedes have dominated the early running at Zandvoort after four C63 machines engulfed the top-five order ahead of Audi and BMW.

Despite Zandvoort serving as something of a bogey circuit for Mercedes in recent years, Wickens - along with Daniel Juncadella and Christian Vietoris - set the FP1 pace to lock-out the top-three order.

Less than 0.1s covered the leading Mercedes trio with Wickens coming out on top having set a 1 minute 31.693 second lap around the iconic Dutch circuit.

Related Articles

Team Abt Sportsline's Mattias Ekstrom was the only non-Mercedes runner to occupy a top-five slot five slot in fourth ahead of ART Grand Prix's Gary Paffett in fifth.

BMW dominated proceedings here last season but the M4 contingent made a quiet start to the weekend with just Bruno Spengler and Martin Tomczyk making the top-ten order.

Spengler was sixth quickest for Team MTEK while Tomczyk set the tenth fastest effort for the Schnitzer outfit.

Team Mucke's Lucas Auer, Mike Rockenfeller and Nico Muller split the BMW duo in seventh, eighth and ninth.

Elsewhere, HWA's Paul di Resta began his Zandvoort assault down in 23rd position while championship leader Marco Wittmann was slowest of the 24 runners a position further behind.