Team Rosberg's Jamie Green will start the second Zandvoort DTM race from pole position as Audi finally derail what seemed an unstoppable Mercedes stranglehold.

Mercedes had led every season so far of the Zandvoort weekend but Green's second pole of the year signalled an end to that run.

The 20-minute qualifying shootout turned into a condensed affair following an early red-flag, triggered by Daniel Juncadella beaching his Mercedes into the gravel.

Related Articles

Mercedes' Christian Vietoris and Audi's Edoardo Mortara both set identical times and led the way after the first set of runs but the pace massively increased as the session progressed.

It was BMW's Timo Glock who set the first eye-catching time to go sub 1 minute 31 around the Dutch circuit but Green soon bettered that to the tune of almost 0.3s.

Gary Paffett and Vietoris both came close to beating Green on their second run but Green held on, giving the Brit his best chance to pick up his first win of the 2016 campaign.

Team Abt's Mortara was another to threaten late in the session but couldn't improve as the flag fell.

Yesterday's race and pole victor Robert Wickens couldn't quite match his previous success but still starts from fifth position.

The Canadian made an error during his first set of runs, which perhaps may have hindered the remainder of his session.

Team RMG's Glock joins Wickens on the third while Marco Wittmann and Esteban Ocon, who once again impressed in eighth, complete the row behind.

Audi's Mattias Ekstrom and Nico Muller completed the remainder of the top-ten.

Adrien Tambay's replacement Rene Rast will start his first ever DTM race from a highly respectable 22nd position - just 1.3s off the pace at the first tine of asking.