Despite supposedly being compromised by running a 2005-specification Mercedes C-Class, Stefan Mucke showed once again in warm-up for the opening round of the DTM championship at Hockenheim of his potential by going quickest.

Competing in his fathers Mucke Motorsports Mercedes, Mucke has had an impressive start to the weekend and will start the first race of the season from fifth on the grid.

He emerged just ahead of Christian Abt, who did not fare quite so well in the new knockout qualifying system, having to settle for 15th on the grid when he was edged out of the reckoning.

Bruno Spengler continued his impressive debut showing in the AMG team by grabbing third place, just ahead of Persson's Alexandros Margaritis, the Greek driver making it two privateer Mercedes in the top four.

The Audi duo of Tom Kristensen and Pierre Kaffer managed to record the fifth and sixth fastest times, just ahead of Mika Hakkinen and Martin Tomczyk.

Pole sitter Jamie Green was ninth quickest, while top rookie Daniel La Rosa rounded out the top ten. Susie Stoddart mirrored her qualifying effort to manage the 17th fastest time, albeit less than a second and a half off Mucke.

Indeed, the session proved to be an exceptionally close affair with the top 15 covered by just over half a second, ensuring the fans are set for a treat later in the afternoon...

Warm-up Positions

1. Stefan Mucke Mucke Motorsports Mercedes
2. Christian Abt Team Phoenix Audi
3. Bruno Spengler DaimlerChrysler Bank AMG Mercedes
4. Alexandros Margaritis Persson Mercedes
5. Tom Kristensen Team Abt Sportsline Audi
6. Pierre Kaffer Team Phoenix Audi
7. Mika Hakkinen DaimlerChrysler Bank AMG Mercedes
8. Martin Tomczyk Team Abt Sportsline Audi
9. Jamie Green Salzgitter AMG Mercedes
10. Daniel La Rosa Mucke Motorsports Mercedes
11. Mattias Ekstrom Team Abt Sportsline Audi
12. Bernd Schneider Vodafone AMG Mercedes
13. Heinz-Harald Frentzen Team Abt Sportsline
14. Timo Scheider Team Rosberg Audi
15. Jean Alesi Persson Motorsport Mercedes
16. Frank Stippler Team Rosberg Audi
17. Susie Soddart Mucke Motorsport Mercedes
18. Mathias Lauda Persson Mercedes
19. Olivier Tielemens Futurecom TME Audi
20. Vanina Ickx Futurecom TME Audi


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment