Mercedes` dream team set to stay on in 2007.

Mercedes' most successful driver and its biggest star look set to extend their contracts with the Stuttgart marque next year, following a superb 2006 that yielded six victories from ten races for the three-pointed star and a dominant championship triumph.

Although nothing is yet official, it seems more than likely that both Bernd Schneider and Mika Hakkinen will continue to race for Mercedes in the DTM next season. The German clinched a record fifth DTM crown this year courtesy of a stunningly consistent campaign, while the Finnish former Formula One world champion took sixth in the standings in his second year in the category, with the highlight of second place in the penultimate round at Le Mans and further podium finishes at the Norisring and Lausitz.

“It was incredibly important to me to show that I can still do it,” said Schneider, alluding to a couple of years in the wilderness prior to his 2006 title success that had led some to question if he was past his best. “It was a tailor-made season for me.”

With Jean Alesi's departure and the sudden divorce between Audi and Heinz-Harald Frentzen following the final round at Hockenheim last month, Hakkinen could be the sole ex-grand prix ace on the DTM grid in 2007, but he has performed well over his first two seasons and is keen to keep that momentum going.

“We are working on a joint future together,” the 38-year-old confirmed.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Bernd Schneider (DER), HWA AMG-Mercedes C-Klasse 2006.DTM, Round 4, Brands Hatch, Kent, UK. 30th June - 2nd July 2006.
Bernd Schneider celebrates victory at the opening DTM round at Hockenheim
Mika Hakkinen (HWA) with Mercedes-Benz motorsport boss Norbert Haug
Nico Muller - Rosberg Audi RS 5 DTM [pic credit Audi Media]
Dieter Gass, Audi Sport, DTM [Credit: Audi Sport]
Marco Wittmann - RMG BMW [pic credit DTM Media]
Mattias Ekstrom - Abt Audi [pic credit DTM Media]
Mattias Ekstrom - Abt Audi [pic credit DTM Media]
Paul di Resta - AMG Mercedes [pic credit DTM Media]
Augusto Farfus - RBM BMW [pic credit: DTM Media
Miguel Molina - Abt Audi [pic credit DTM Media]
Audi DTM drivers [pic credit DTM media]
Audi DTM drivers [pic credit DTM media]
Mattias Ekstrom - Abt Audi [pic credit DTM Media]
Pascal Wehrlein - gooix Mercedes C-Coupe [pic credit DTM Media]
Pascal Wehrlein - gooix Mercedes C-Coupe [pic credit DTM Media]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.