The official 2007 DTM calendar has now been finalised, with four events outside of its homeland and a return to Italy further evidence of the series' burgeoning international appeal.

On the back of the championship's successful outings at Brands Hatch, Zandvoort and Barcelona last season, all three venues have been retained, with the addition of Mugello marking the first time the DTM will have visited the picturesque Tuscan circuit since 1996 and its first trip to Italy since Adria in 2004. This will take the place of Le Mans, dropped from the schedule following its maiden appearance last year.

Contrary to what had previously been suggested, the series will remain at ten races for the forthcoming campaign, with the six German rounds - N?rburgring, EuroSpeedway Lausitz, Oschersleben, Norisring and Hockenheim - the same as in 2006, with the latter traditionally hosting both the season-opener and finale.

A particular new feature in 2007 will be the twinning of the final round - held from 12 to 14 October - with the inaugural ADAC GT Masters series. This highlight will give motor racing enthusiasts the chance to witness touring car and sportscar action all on the same bill.

"We are delighted that the finale of our new GT series will be held together with DTM," commented a delighted ADAC President Hermann Tomczyk. "We couldn't have dreamed of a better scenario. This way, the spectators are provided both great touring car racing and our gorgeous sportscars."

"With ten rounds held all over Europe we have got the arguably most attractive DTM calendar of all time," added Hans Werner Aufrecht, chairman of DTM rights-holder and promoter ITR e.V. "Last year's debut races in Brands Hatch and Barcelona proved to be truly successful and this year another international venue has been added to the schedule, while Zandvoort and the German rounds are true classics on the DTM calendar and make for packed grandstands."

Final 2007 DTM Calendar:

22 April Hockenheim Germany
6 May Oschersleben Germany
20 May EuroSpeedway Lausitz Germany
10 June Brands Hatch Britain
24 June Norisring Germany
15 July Mugello Italy
29 July Zandvoort Netherlands
2 September N?rburgring Germany
23 September Barcelona Spain
14 October Hockenheim Germany


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment