Hakkinen pops Rockenfeller bid.

Mika Hakkinen denied Mike Rockenfeller a shock pole position in qualifying for the second round of the DTM at Oschersleben following an evenly balanced battle between Mercedes and Audi.

Only his second DTM pole position – his first coming at Spa in 2005 - Hakkinen defied an initially questionable weekend for the new C-Class by securing the top spot, while Bruno Spengler and Jamie Green's third and fifth appears to show Mercedes have sorted the performance worries they suffered at Hockenheim.

However, while it is Hakkinen who leads the way, it is Rockenfeller who grabbed the headlines with an astute performance in his year-old Audi A4 that very nearly saw him claim the top spot.

As it happens, Hakkinen's very final effort was enough to deny the former American Le Mans driver by a comfortable tenth of a second, although Rockenfeller can take heart in the fact that second marks Team Rosberg's best qualifying position in DTM.

Hockenheim pole sitter Bruno Spengler will start third, ahead of the eventual winner of that race Mattias Ekstrom, Green and Timo Scheider, the German having emerged as the favourite for pole position having topped both knockout sessions before the final outing, but failing to build upon it.

Martin Tomczyk and Gary Paffett sneaked into the top-eight shootout, denying Christian Abt and Bernd Schneider a shot at the leading positions, the reigning champion ruining his chances when he went off on his best lap.

The older cars that starred at Hockenheim found themselves in more familiar territory, although eleventh place Paul di Resta in his two-year old C-Class still managed to out pace the year-old Mercedes' of Mathias Lauda and Alex Margaritis.

Adam Carroll will start his second DTM race from an encouraging 14th having contributed to the demise of some surprise names during the first knockout session, including DTM returnees Marco Werner and Frank Biela.

Werner, who will start his first DTM race for 14 years, will do it from 17th in Alex Premat's Phoenix A4, while former champion Biela qualified 18th but will be forced to start last after being punished for not obeying yellow flags in practice.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Mika Hakkinen - AMG Mercedes [pic credit: DTM Media]
Mike Rockenfeller - Audi Sport Team Rosberg   [pic credit: Audi motorsport]
Bruno Spengler - Daimler-Chrysler Bank AMG Mercedes [pic credit: DTM Media]
Nico Muller - Rosberg Audi RS 5 DTM [pic credit Audi Media]
Lucas Auer - Mercedes AMG C63 DTM [pic credit Mercedes Media]
Jamie Green - Rosberg Audi [pic credit Audi Media]
Dieter Gass, Audi Sport, DTM [Credit: Audi Sport]
ART Grand Prix, DTM [Credit: Mercedes-Benz DTM]
Gotz at Mercedes
Esteban Ocon poses with the Mercedes DTM car at Jerez. Pic credit: Daimler
Charles Pic poses next to a Mercedes DTM car at Jerez. Pic credit: Daimler
AMG Mercedes C-Coupe [pic credit Mercedes]
AMG Mercedes C-Coupe [pic credit DTM Media]
Mattias Ekstrom - Abt Audi [pic credit DTM Media]
Mattias Ekstrom - Abt Audi [pic credit DTM Media]
Mattias Ekstrom - Abt Audi [pic credit DTM Media]
Mattias Ekstrom - Abt Audi [pic credit DTM Media]
Mattias Ekstrom - Abt Audi [pic credit DTM Media]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.