Pace but little in way of points for new C-Class.

Mercedes' big guns again came away disappointed from the second round of the 2007 DTM campaign at Oschersleben last weekend, with just three points between them to show for their efforts despite an encouraging turn of speed.

It had, however, all started out so differently, with Mika Hakkinen storming to pole position – his second in the series since his debut just over two years ago – and 2006 runner-up Bruno Spengler backing him up strongly in third on the grid. That, though, is where the good news ended for the three-pointed star's 2007-spec machines.

A poor start saw Hakkinen cede places to Audi drivers Mike Rockenfeller and Mattias Ekström into the first corner, and though the Finn remained solidly in the leaders' wheeltracks all race-long, his podium charge was ultimately to come undone when he tangled with Rockenfeller on the penultimate lap as they tussled over third place. Forced to make an additional pit-stop to replace a damaged tyre, the 38-year-old eventually took the chequered flag in a deflated and entirely unrepresentative 17th position.

“Starting from pole I was of course not happy to lose a possible podium finish due to the accident with Mike on the penultimate lap,” the double Formula 1 World Champion said. “I am, however, happy for Gary Paffett, Paul di Resta and Mercedes-Benz for the one-two victory.”

Spengler, for his part, was no more fortunate. After running comfortably inside the top three for much of the race's early stages, the Canadian – a title favourite entering the new campaign – pulled into the pits on lap 16 with a terminal power steering system failure, leaving him to once again walk away from the meeting empty-handed and with a considerable mountain to climb. He insisted, though, the battle is far from over yet.

“It's a shame I wasn't able to finish the race,” the 23-year-old acknowledged. “The car had good speed and I had a chance to win. The championship is not over yet however; there are still eight races to go and nothing is decided.”

Ironically, the only driver behind the wheel of a 2007-spec C-Class to trouble the scorers was the one who had started furthest down the grid. For the second race in a row, reigning champion Bernd Schneider failed to make the final qualifying cut, lining up a lowly tenth, and his chances looked to be completely scuppered when he immediately fell back to last place at the start with a clutch problem. The five-time DTM king, though, had other ideas, searing his way back up through the field into sixth position at the close, less than a second shy of the top four.

“The fact I finished sixth shows the great performance of the new C-Class,” the German enthused afterwards. “It's a shame – without the problem at the start a far better result would have been possible.”

Mercedes-Benz Motorsport Vice-President Norbert Haug was also encouraged by the promise shown by the new machine, especially after its distinctly below-par showing in the season-opener at Hockenhein two weeks previously. He remained confident it augured well for the remainder of the campaign as the Stuttgart marque bids to re-assert its superiority over rivals Audi.

“It's a pity for Mika,” he stated. “As pole-sitter he started on the dirty side of the track and had a poor start there. Bernd also had problems at the start and lost places; however, everybody could see he had the speed for a podium position, and this is important for the next race.

“Bruno retired due to a problem with the power steering system – this will be solved for sure. The HWA team has always performed well and if there is a problem for once they still have our confidence and support.”

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Mika Hakkinen - AMG Mercedes [pic credit: DTM Media]
Bruno Spengler - DaimlerChrysler Bank AMG Mercedes [pic credit: DTM Media]
Bernd Schneider - Original-Teile AMG Mercedes [pic credit: DTM Media]
Augusto Farfus - RBM BMW M4 DTM [pic credit: DTM Media]
Bruno Spengler - Team MTEK BMW M4 DTM [pic credit DTM media]
Marco Wittmann - RMG BMW M4 DTM [pic credit DTM Media]
Antonio Giovinazzi - Audi Team Phoenix RS 5 DTM [pic credit Audi Sport]
Nico Muller - Rosberg Audi RS 5 DTM [pic credit Audi Media]
Miguel Molina - Abt Audi RS5 [pic credit Audi Sport]
Edoardo Mortara - Abt Audi RS5 DTM [pic credit Audi Sport]
Jamie Green - Rosberg Audi RS5 [pic credit Audi Sport]
Adrien Tambay Team Abt Audi RS5 - pic credit [Audi Sport]
Mike Rockenfeller - Phoenix Audi RS5 DTM [pic credit Audi Sport]
Mattias Ekstrom - Abt Audi RS5 DTM [pic credit Audi Sport]
Mattias Ekstrom - Abt Audi RS5 DTM [pic credit Audi Sport]
Bruno Spengler - Team MTEK BMW M4 DTM [pic credit BMW PressClub]
Jens Marquardt - BMW Motorsport Director [pic credit BMW PressClub]
Timo Scheider - Phoenix Audi RS 5 DTM [pic credit Audi Sport]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.