Audi ace `Racer of the Year` – but not the champ.

Following in the wheeltracks of such motorsport legends as Michael Schumacher, Bernd Schneider and Walter Röhrl, an Audi DTM driver has been voted the ADAC 'Racer of the Year' – only the driver in question is not 2007 series champion Mattias Ekström.

Instead it is the Swede's Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline team-mate Martin Tomczyk who is set to receive the prestigious accolade, after being selected by the German sports committee ahead of numerous other candidates. In addition to the 25-year-old's third place in the 2007 standings – just ten points shy of the crown courtesy of a brace of victories, one more than Ekström – the jury, comprising three motoring journalists and three representatives of the ADAC, recognized Tomczyk's 'fair and exemplary conduct both on and off the track'.

“I was completely surprised when I heard about my selection for the award,” the Bavarian remarked. “I've attended the sports galas for eight years and it's always been my wish to be on the stage as the winner of this award one day.

“I'm incredibly happy about this honour. It means even more to me as the professional jury selected me for the award although I didn't win the DTM title. That's great motivation for next year.”

The 'Racer of the Year' award has been in existence since 1980, and will be presented to Tomczyk in the form of a 'Grand ADAC St. Christopher' made of Nymphenburg porcelain during the ADAC sports gala in Salzburg on 24 November.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Audi DTM star Martin Tomczyk [pic credit: Audi Communication Motorsport]
Martin Tomczyk (DER), Audi Sport Team ABT Sportsline Audi A4 DTM 2006. DTM, Round 4, Brands Hatch, Kent, UK. 30th June - 2nd July 2006.
Martin Tomczyk - Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline [pic credit: DTM Media]
Gotz at Mercedes
Esteban Ocon poses with the Mercedes DTM car at Jerez. Pic credit: Daimler
Charles Pic poses next to a Mercedes DTM car at Jerez. Pic credit: Daimler
AMG Mercedes C-Coupe [pic credit Mercedes]
AMG Mercedes C-Coupe [pic credit DTM Media]
Mattias Ekstrom - Abt Audi [pic credit DTM Media]
Mattias Ekstrom - Abt Audi [pic credit DTM Media]
Marco Wittmann - RMG BMW [pic credit DTM Media]
Mattias Ekstrom - Abt Audi [pic credit DTM Media]
Mattias Ekstrom - Abt Audi [pic credit DTM Media]
Mattias Ekstrom - Abt Audi [pic credit DTM Media]
Paul di Resta - AMG Mercedes [pic credit DTM Media]
Augusto Farfus - RBM BMW [pic credit: DTM Media]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.