EasyKart »

Round 3 – Clay Pigeon

Round three of the 2010 Easykart UK Championship at a sun drenched Clay Pigeon.
From England's industrial north to the rolling hills of Dorset in the South, the 2010 Easykart UK Championship headed to the revered Clay Pigeon circuit near Glastonbury for its own festival of speed in the midst of a late spring heat wave for the third round of the series.

Most famous for being the track where a certain Jenson Button took his first tentative steps in a kart in the mid 1980's Clay Pigeon has remained a staple on most British Karting calendars despite being shorter, 860-metres, and somewhat less well appointed, than some of its more modern counterparts. Still, Clay Pigeon has a rhythm to it that is unmatched by any other UK circuit which makes it a firm favourite for many drivers.

After winning the opening two rounds of the season Tom Thickpenny had to be content with third place in Cadets this time around as Ronan McKenzie opened his victory account with a hard fought half second win over Easykart Driver Programme member and 2009 series runner-up William Stowell.

Stowell was on course to take his first win of the season until late in the going when McKenzie nipped through on the final lap and McKenzie's win moved him to within three points of Thickpenny's championship lead. Daniel McAuley scored the best result of his season to date with a fine run to fourth ahead of Kyle Forgie while Keiron Wragg, who took a close second place at Teesside, could only manage 17th place.

Thomas Grainger made it three different winners from three rounds in the Junior category with victory over Luca Hirst and James DeHavillande, Grainger grabbing the points lead by a single marker from Teesside winner DeHavillande. Round one winner Toby Sowery was only ninth behind William Davison, James Lay, Jed McInnes, Alex Morris and Jamie Cummings.

Patrick Lay moved into the Senior Light championship lead thanks to a two tenths of a second victory over Mark Elder, who put in his most impressive performance of the season since returning from New Zealand with Sam Dimelow making it onto the podium for the first time in 2010, albeit more than six seconds behind the lead duo.

Fourth across the line was Owen Jenman with Teesside winner Joe Paterson fifth, Matthew Pearson sixth and Elliot Rice only seventh despite being the defending champion at Clay.

Barnaby Pittingale maintained his unbeaten record in the Senior Heavy division and thus is the only driver to hold a championship lead of more than ten points after three rounds. On this occasion Adrian Ricardo Batty was Pittingale's closest threat but despite finishing within a second of the winner he was unable to prevent Pittingale from leading all 20 laps.

Gary Poynter and Tim Hill disputed third place with great enthusiasm with Poynter taking the final podium place and maintaining second place in the standings, 15 markers behind Pittingale but ten ahead of Hill.

Easykart reports are compiled with the grateful assistance of Adam Jones/100cc PR

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Barnaby Pittingale Easykart UK Senior Heavy, Ellough Park [Pic Credit Easykart]
[PIC: EasyKart]
[PIC: EasyKart]
[PIC: EasyKart]
[PIC: EasyKart]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.