F1 »

Abu Dhabi Grand Prix: Six of the Best: Winning Streaks

Ahead of the Abu Dhabu Grand Prix this weekend at the Yas Marina circuit, Crash.net columnist Will Saunders looks at winning streaks in his latest 'Six of the Best' feature...
With Sebastian Vettel's seemingly interminable winning streak extending into the upper stratosphere of all-time glory runs after his sixth successive victory at the Indian Grand prix, Crash.net explores some of Formula One's previous best adventures in monopolised monotony.

Alberto Ascari (9 consecutive wins: 1952 Belgian GP – 1953 Belgian GP)

Most of Grand Prix racing's individual records belong to the modern age. Gilded sequences of longevity and success as measured by wins, poles and points have all been consecrated in the era of global expansion, multiple races and improved reliability.

However, Formula One's most remarkable winning streak belongs to its formative days; one of the sport's greatest champions dominating the field in the fledgling formula in a manner unmatched through the sport's evolution.

With Alfa Romeo, who had pipped Ferrari to the title in 1950 and 1951, withdrawing from the competition for 1952, the Prancing Horse enjoyed an effective monopoly. So narrow was the field that the championship was run to Formula 2 regulations, and the leading F1 marque duly dominated the series.

The chief beneficiary of this supremacy was Albrerto Ascari, the Ferrari team leader who had finished runner-up to Juan Manuel Fangio's Alfa Romeo in the 1951 championship. With Fangio enduring an enforced sabbatical, Ascari's path to domination was unchallenged.

However, Ascari failed to win either of the first two races of the season, missing the curtain-raising Swiss GP to lead Ferrari's sole attempt at the Indianapolis 500. The Scuderia failed to make an impression in the States, but they and Ascari left an indelible mark on the rest of the season, winning each of the remaining six races across a 12 week golden summer to annihilate the opposition.

The sequence continued through into 1953, despite the return of Fangio at the wheel of a Maserati. Ascari won the Argentine, Dutch and Belgian GPs, skipping Indianapolis between Buenos Aires and Zandvoort. Ascari was finally bested by team-mate Mike Hawthorn at the French GP in an all-time classic, finishing at the tail of a four-man sprint to the finish.

To this day, Ascari remains Italy's last world champion, and the sole home title-winner for Ferrari. Whilst debate has raged about whether his wins can be counted as truly 'consecutive' due to missing the 1953 Indy 500, what can't be doubted is that Ascari was unbeaten in nine consecutive Grands Prix that he entered for a full calendar year, and produced a sequence of domination unlikely to ever be matched.

Michael Schumacher (7 consecutive wins: 2004 European GP – Hungarian GP)

Michael Schumacher's 2004 season stands as one of the most ludicrously dominant campaigns in Formula One or any other sport. His 2002 cakewalk may have been more metronomically consistent, but 2004 was a crushing display of supremacy; the effervescent speed of the Prancing Horse F2004 allied to the Teutonic precision of latter-peak-era Schumacher to deliver a record 13 victories en route to Schumi's seventh heaven.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Michael Schumacher, Ferrari F1 celebrates another win
Michael Schumacher, Ferrari celebrates another win
Fernando Alonso arrives in style to officially open the museum complex devoted to his racing career
Fernando Alonso - McLaren-Honda MP4-30
Valtteri Bottas - Williams-Mercedes FW37
Valtteri Bottas - Williams-Mercedes FW37
Valtteri Bottas - Williams-Mercedes FW37
Antonio Fuoco - Ferrari SF15-T
21.06.2015- Race, Sebastian Vettel (GER) Scuderia Ferrari SF15-T
21.06.2015- Race, Sebastian Vettel (GER) Scuderia Ferrari SF15-T
21.06.2015- Race, Pastor Maldonado (VEN) Lotus F1 Team E23
21.06.2015- Race, Valtteri Bottas (FIN) Williams F1 Team FW37
21.06.2015- Race, Valtteri Bottas (FIN) Williams F1 Team FW37
21.06.2015- Race, William Stevens (GBR) Manor Marussia F1 Team
21.06.2015- Race, Kimi Raikkonen (FIN) Scuderia Ferrari SF15-T come back to the paddock after the crash with a marshall
21.06.2015- Race, Romain Grosjean (FRA) Lotus F1 Team E23
21.06.2015- Race, Valtteri Bottas (FIN) Williams F1 Team FW37
21.06.2015- Race, Felipe Massa (BRA) Williams F1 Team FW37

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.


October 30, 2013 11:04 AM

Hard to say which was Clark's best season but I'd probably go for the "other" one 1963. On the podium at 90% of the races that year only bettered by Schumacher in 2002. The one race that he didn't podium was Monaco, where he led until lap 78 when his gearbox died. Over the whole season he led 71.47% of all laps, still a record. He notched up 3 grand chelems in 63 and did it again in 65. The only race he didn't lead in '63 was the US GP, he qualified 2nd but his battery died and started last (20th) but made his way back to 3rd at the end. His winning margins were also huge, almost 5 minutes at Spa, lapped everyone at Zandvoort, of his other 5 wins 4 were by over a minute. Maybe the best season ever driven in F1.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.