Jenson Button will start from pole position for the second time in as many r4aces in 2009, after taking his Brawn-Mercedes to fastest time in qualifying for the Malaysian Grand Prix.

The Briton emerged on top of a closely-fought top ten shoot-out to deny Toyota's Jarno Trulli, while Sabastian Vettel put his Red Bull third fastest, but will take a ten-place penalty hanging over from Australia.

That would have elevated the second Brawn of Rubens Barrichello to the inside of row two, with Toyota's Timo Glock completing a symmetrical appearance at the front of the grid, except for the Brazilian's own penalty dropping him five places for a gearbox change.

Nico Rosberg, Mark Webber, Robert Kubica, Kimi Raikkonen and Fernando Alonso rounded out the top ten, while the likes of Felipe Massa and the two McLarens missed out.