The FIA has revealed a 19-race calendar for the 2010 F1 season, confirming the return of the Canadian Grand Prix and a debut for Korea.

The season will begin in Bahrain, with the traditional curtain-raiser in Australia moving to the second race of the season. Malaysia and China will also host their races before the season returns to Europe in early may for the Spanish Grand Prix.

Following the races in Monaco and Turkey, North America will make its return to F1 with the Canadian Grand Prix given a date in early June. However, the event is still subject to the completion of negotiations with Bernie Ecclestone's Formula One Management group, with the Turkish race set to move back a week if the Canadian talks aren't completed.

The European Grand Prix in Valencia moves forward to June ahead of the first scheduled British GP at Donington Park, with Germany, Hungary, Belgium and Italy completing the European season.

The Singapore night race in late September will be followed by the Japanese Grand Prix in early October and the first ever F1 event in Korea, which is due to take place on 17 October at a new circuit south of the capital Seoul.

Abu Dhabi and Brazil will then round out the season.

The provisional 2010 calendar is as follows - the 2009 one is shown after for easy comparison...

2010 Formula One World Championship Calendar:

14 March Bahrain
28 March Australia
4 April Malaysia
18 April China
9 May Spain
23 May Monaco
30 May Turkey
13 June Canada *
27 June Europe (Valencia)
11 July Great Britain
25 July Germany
1 August Hungary
29 August Belgium
12 September Italy
26 September Singapore
3 October Japan
17 October Korea
31 October Abu Dhabi
14 November Brazil

*Subject to the completion of contract negotiations with Formula One Management. If these are not completed then the Turkish Grand Prix will be moved to 6 June.

The race in Australia will start at 1700 local time, in Malaysia at 1600 local time, in Singapore at 2000 local time, and in Abu Dhabi at 1700 local time.

2009 Formula One World Championship Calendar:

29 March Australia
5 April Malaysia
19 April China
26 April Bahrain
10 May Spain
24 May Monaco
7 June Turkey
21 June Great Britain
12 July Germany
26 July Hungary
23 August Europe (Valencia)
30 August Belgium
13 September Italy
27 September Singapore
4 October Japan
18 October Brazil
1 November Abu Dhabi


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment