F1 »

Webber wins Brazilian GP; Button takes 2009 F1 title

Mark Webber notches up his second F1 win in Brazil; Jenson Button secures the 2009 F1 drivers' title and Brawn Grand Prix clinch the constructors' crown too...
Red Bull Racing's Mark Webber came through to take the victory at the Brazilian Grand Prix on Sunday, while Jenson Button did enough to secure the 2009 F1 drivers' title by finishing in fifth.

Webber eventually finished 7.6 seconds up on Robert Kubica's BMW Sauber with Lewis Hamilton taking the final spot on the podium for McLaren.

Sebastian Vettel was fourth after storming back up the field, with Button a fighting fifth, something that gives him enough points to sow things up with one race still to go in two weeks time.

Kimi Raikkonen rounded out the top six, with Sebastien Buemi seventh and Rubens Barrichello eighth after a puncture late on dropped him down from P4.

For the record, Brawn GP's 5-8 finish was also enough for Ross Brawn's team to take the honours in the constructors' championship.

Full report and result to follow soon...

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Mark Webber (AUS) Red Bull RB5 Wins, German F1 Grand Prix, Nurburgring, 10-12th, July 2009
Jenson Button (GBR) Brawn BGP001 Wins, Turkish F1, Istanbul Park, 5th-7th June, 2009

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

Fear The Bunny - Unregistered

October 18, 2009 6:58 PM

In 2008 Hamilton had #22 on his car, won 1st race of season, won Monaco, and finished 5th at Brazil to win championship. In 2009 Button has #22 on his car, won 1st race of season, won Monaco, and finished 5th at Brazil to win championship. Who will have #22 on there car next year?

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.