Reigning Granja Viana 500 mile champion Rubens Barrichello has announced that will once again line-up along with his long time pals Tony Kanaan, Felipe Giaffone and Renato Russo in this year's endurance race.

The main Brazilian kart event will he held at Kartodromo Granja Viana near Sao Paulo on December 4 and 5.

Barrichello and Kanaan have won eight out the twelve editions so far. The first free practice has been scheduled for next Monday, when drivers and teams will get to grips with the 1.1 kilometre circuit.

Barrichello will be also behind the wheel of a second kart, but the names of his team-mates are still to be announced.

"Granja Viana is a big fun event, but also a competition and we have to make sure we have the right drivers in both karts," Barrichello explained.

"With the new rules, a driver should be replaced every time he pits, so it will be very important to have a very fine-tuned team."

The main opposition to Barrichello and Kanaan's plans to extend their domination should come from the squad led by Ferrari F1 star, Felipe Massa. Lucas di Grassi and Stock Car local ace Pop? Bueno are already confirmed in that team with two other drivers to be named shortly. Massa won the first edition of the Granja Viana 500 in 1997 and got his second title in 2002 when he competed with Barrichello and Kanaan.


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment