F1 »

F1 stars win big at annual BRDC awards

F1 title winner Jenson Button and new McLaren team-mate Lewis Hamilton amongst winners at the annual BRDC Awards
The British Racing Drivers' Club celebrated motor racing achievements of 2009 in style earlier this week when it hosted the BRDC Annual Awards Luncheon in London.

The ceremony was attended by motor racings finest while British Prime Minister, Gordon Brown appeared to present F1 champion Jenson Button with one of his awards - the Richard Seaman Trophy.

“We have a world champion in whom we have so much pride, who fought back against all the odds, who achieved something when some people thought at the beginning of the season it was impossible,” Brown said. “Jenson, the whole country is proud of you. You are a brilliant ambassador for British sport.”

Button collected no fewer than four awards - including the prestigious BRDC Gold Star, presented to him by ten-time BRDC Gold Star winner, Sir Stirling Moss OBE.

Button, however, wasn't the only driver being celebrated at the prestigious Awards ceremony. Dario Franchitti was presented with his first Gold Star after winning his second IndyCar Series Driver's Championship in 2009, while British Touring Car Championship driver Jason Plato was also in attendance to receive the BRDC's highest national racing accolade, the BRDC Silver Star.

The achievements of Lewis Hamilton and Sebastian Vettel were recognised, with the two drivers being awarded the John Cobb Trophy and Johnny Wakefield Trophy respectively.

Fellow F1 driver Mark Webber was honoured with both the Innes Ireland and Bruce McLaren Trophies while the successes of Ross Brawn and Adrian Newey were also recognised, with the duo being presented with the Colin Chapman Trophy (awarded to an individual who has shown great team spirit) and the Sir Jackie Stewart Award (presented to a motor sport engineer who has shown brilliance during the course of the season).

A new award, the Henry Surtees Award, was also introduced this year, recognising the most outstanding performance by a BRDC Rising Star. The inaugural winner of this award was Daniel Ricciardo, following his title-winning season in the British F3 Championship.

Full list of BRDC Awards winners:

BRDC Gold Star:
Jenson Button

BRDC Gold Star:
Dario Franchitti

BRDC Silver Star:
Jason Plato

The Bruce McLaren Trophy:
Mark Webber
Given to commenwealth driver who showed most meritorious performance in international motor racing

The Chris Bristow Trophy:
Dean Smith
Given to winner of the BRDC McLaren Autosport Young Driver of the Year award

The Colin Chapman Trophy:
Ross Brawn
Special award given to individual to have shown great team spirit

The Earl Howe Trophy:
Dario Franchitti
Given to highest placed British driver in the Indianapolis 500

The ERA Club Trophy:
Jenson Button
Given to British driver in a British car to have produced most meritorious performance of the year outside the UK

The Fairfield Trophy:
David Brabham
Given for outstanding performance by a BRDC member

The Graham Hill Trophy:
Jenson Button
Given for most meritorious performance from a British driver in single-seater racing

The Innes Ireland Trophy:
Mark Webber
For best displaying the qualities epitomised by the late Innes Ireland

The John Cobb Trophy:
Lewis Hamilton
For British driver in a British car who achieved success of outstanding character

The John Cooper Trophy:
Daniel Ricciardo
Awarded to British F3 runner to have shown potential as a future World Champion

The Johnny Wakefield Trophy:
Sebastian Vettel
For the driver to have posted the quickest race lap on the Silverstone Grand Prix circuit

The Nigel Moores Trophy:
Team RAC/West Surrey Racing
Awarded to private team who has show most meritorious performance in international motor racing

The Richard Seaman Trophy:
Jenson Button
Awarded to winner of the Gold Star points scoring system

The Silverstone Le Mans Challenge:
Jan Charouz, Tomas Enge and Stefan Mucke
Awarded to drivers to have the highest combined finish in the Le Mans 24 Hours and Silverstone LMS race

The Sir Jackie Stewart Award:
Adrian Newey
Given to motor sport engineer to how brilliance during the season

The Spencer Charrington Trophy:
Max Chilton
Given to highest placed British driver in the British F3 International Series

The Woolf Barnato Trophy:
Jonny Kane
Given to highest placed British driver in a British car at the Le Mans 24 Hours

The ACO Award:
Allan McNish
Presented to the highest placed British driver in the Le Mans 24 Hours

The Henry Surtees Award:
Daniel Ricciardo
Awarded for most outstanding performance by a rising star

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Jenson Button, Damon Hill and Gordon Brown [Pic credit: BRDC]
John Watson driving the McLaren MP4B at the 1982 Caesars Palace Grand Prix, Las Vegas
2014 FIA European F3 champion Esteban Ocon is to test with Lotus F1
12.10.2014- Race, Jenson Button (GBR) McLaren Mercedes MP4-29
12.10.2014- Race, the start
12.10.2014- Race, Sebastian Vettel (GER) Infiniti Red Bull Racing RB10
12.10.2014- Vitaly Mutko (RUS) Minister of Sport of the Russian Federation
12.10.2014- Race, Kimi Raikkonen (FIN) Scuderia Ferrari F14T
12.10.2014- Race, Kevin Magnussen (DEN) McLaren Mercedes MP4-29
12.10.2014- Race, Lewis Hamilton (GBR) Mercedes AMG F1 W05 in the press conference after the race
12.10.2014- Race, Lewis Hamilton (GBR) Mercedes AMG F1 W05 celebrates Manufactor title of Mercedes with the team
12.10.2014- Race, Romain Grosjean (FRA) Lotus F1 Team E22
12.10.2014- Race, Fernando Alonso (ESP) Scuderia Ferrari F14T
12.10.2014-  Sebastian Vettel (GER) Infiniti Red Bull Racing RB10 with a fan
12.10.2014- Fabiana Flosi (BRA)
12.10.2014- Race, Lewis Hamilton (GBR) Mercedes AMG F1 W05
12.10.2014- Max Chilton (GBR), Marussia F1 Team MR03 and all the Marussia F1 Team show a panel for Jules Bianchi (FRA) Marussia F1 Team MR03
12.10.2014- Race, Nico Rosberg (GER) Mercedes AMG F1 W05

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2014 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.