The World Motor Sport Council has confirmed that the new points system will be adopted in time for the 2010 F1 World Championship.

The F1 Commission recommended a revamp on Thursday to reflect the expected increase in gird sizes following the addition of three further two-car teams for 2010. Under it the top three drivers will now receive 25, 20 and 15 points respectively, with the remaining seven finishers being awarded 10-8-6-5-3-2-1 respectively.

2009 F1 World Champion, Jenson Button has already given it the thumbs-up: "It's a great idea," Button told BBC Radio 5 live. "It's nice that you get five points over second for winning.

"That's important because we all love winning races. I won six races this year and I got just two more points."

This year points were awarded to the top-eight finishers, in a 10-8-6-5-4-3-2-1 format, something that came in back in 2003.

Assumingly with the new points system coming into force in 2010, the gold medal proposal, championed by F1 boss Bernie Ecclestone, whereby the F1 Champion would have been determined by the driver getting the most wins during a season, has been shelved - at least for now.