F1 »

New points system gets OK

F1 points system will be revamped for the 2010 FIA F1 World Championship.
The World Motor Sport Council has confirmed that the new points system will be adopted in time for the 2010 F1 World Championship.

The F1 Commission recommended a revamp on Thursday to reflect the expected increase in gird sizes following the addition of three further two-car teams for 2010. Under it the top three drivers will now receive 25, 20 and 15 points respectively, with the remaining seven finishers being awarded 10-8-6-5-3-2-1 respectively.

2009 F1 World Champion, Jenson Button has already given it the thumbs-up: "It's a great idea," Button told BBC Radio 5 live. "It's nice that you get five points over second for winning.

"That's important because we all love winning races. I won six races this year and I got just two more points."

This year points were awarded to the top-eight finishers, in a 10-8-6-5-4-3-2-1 format, something that came in back in 2003.

Assumingly with the new points system coming into force in 2010, the gold medal proposal, championed by F1 boss Bernie Ecclestone, whereby the F1 Champion would have been determined by the driver getting the most wins during a season, has been shelved – at least for now.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Start, Turkish F1, Istanbul Park, 5th-7th June, 2009

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

Ty46 - Unregistered

December 11, 2009 5:30 PM

These idiots can't even get this right. MotoGP's 25-20-16-13-11-10-9... is fair. This new sh.it 25-20-15-10-8... is not fair. The 3rd should not have 7 points on the 5th. The 2nd should not have 10 points on the 4th...

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.