Despite being the overwhelming favourite with bookmakers, F1 title winner Jenson Button was forced to settle for second place in the annual BBC Sports Personality of the Year.

Button went into the annual end of season awards as the hot favourite to secure the title having lifted the F1 crown for the first time but was instead beaten into second place by Manchester United footballer Ryan Giggs.

Giggs polled 29.4 per cent of the vote, with Button picking up 18.74 per cent.

It marked the second successive season that Britain's F1 title winner has failed to win the award, with Lewis Hamilton having lost out last year to cyclist Chris Hoy following his success at the Beijing Olympic Games.

Elsewhere, Button's Brawn GP team missed out on securing the team of the year award to the Ashes-winning England cricket team, while young British racing driver Sarah Moore failed to secure Young Sports Personality of the Year - which went to diver Tom Daly.

Since its creation in 1954, the Sports Personality of the Year award has gone to an F1 driver on six occasions, with Sir Stirling Moss and Jackie Stewart winning once and Nigel Mansell and Damon Hill both winning twice.


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment