F1 »

An F1 Christmas card from Bernie…

F1 commercial rights-holder Bernie Ecclestone's annual Christmas card pokes fun at some of the sport's leading stories and controversies of 2009 - with 'Singapore-gate' villain Flavio Briatore the chief butt of the humour
With characteristic irreverence, Bernie Ecclestone's annual Christmas card has poked fun at some of F1's leading protagonists in his own tongue-in-cheek style – with disgraced former Renault F1 managing director Flavio Briatore the chief butt of the jokes this year.

Reflecting on the key themes of the season, the mischievous card depicts those who have left F1 in 2009 – former FIA President Max Mosley and team principals Mario Theissen (BMW) and John Howett (Toyota) – sailing away in a yacht, as fellow team bosses and Mosley's replacement Jean Todt wave farewell from the shore.

Briatore – armed with a rocket-launcher – can be seen attempting to ambush their boat in his own small dinghy bearing a pirate's flag, whilst sharks circle menacingly around and Formula One Management (FOM) chief executive Ecclestone himself looks on from a lifeguard's hut.

Last year, the 79-year-old British billionaire's festive effort focussed upon Mosley whipping team principals – in reference to the salacious tabloid sex scandal in which the Englishman became embroiled – with a pit wall screen showing a woman wearing fishnet stockings and high heels.

The 2007 card, meanwhile, made light of the McLaren/Ferrari espionage row, with ex-McLaren team principal Ron Dennis receiving a gift-wrapped present from former Ferrari chief designer Mike Coughlan.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
F1 commercial rights-holder Bernie Ecclestone`s tongue-in-cheek 2009 Christmas card
25.05.2017 - Daniel Ricciardo (AUS) Red Bull Racing RB13
25.05.2017 - Romain Grosjean (FRA) Haas F1 Team VF-17
25.05.2017 - Kevin Magnussen (DEN) Haas F1 Team VF-17
25.05.2017 - Kevin Magnussen (DEN) Haas F1 Team VF-17
25.05.2017 - Sergio Perez (MEX) Sahara Force India F1 VJM010
25.05.2017 - Romain Grosjean (FRA) Haas F1 Team VF-17
25.05.2017 - Carlos Ghosn (BRA) Chairman of Renault
25.05.2017 - Carlos Sainz (ESP) WRC Champion former
25.05.2017 - Sebastian Vettel (GER) Scuderia Ferrari SF70H
25.05.2017 - Nico Hulkenberg (GER) Renault Sport F1 Team RS17
25.05.2017 - Kimi Raikkonen (FIN) Scuderia Ferrari SF70H
25.05.2017 - Mattia Binotto (ITA) Chief Technical Officer, Scuderia Ferrari and Toto Wolff (GER) Mercedes AMG F1 Shareholder and Executive Director
25.05.2017 - Felipe Massa (BRA) Williams FW40
25.05.2017 - Pascal Wehrlein (GER) Sauber C36
24.05.2017 - Esteban Ocon (FRA) Sahara Force India F1 VJM10
24.05.2017 - Kimi Raikkonen (FIN) Scuderia Ferrari SF70H
24.05.2017 - Kimi Raikkonen (FIN) Scuderia Ferrari SF70H

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.