The second of two pre-season tests at Jerez saw eleven of the 13 teams take to the track, with Lotus turning the first wheels with its new T127.

The four days of running saw Jenson Button post the quickest time for McLaren having benefitted from running on the final day, when conditions where the best they had been for the Spanish outing. Indeed, the five of the top six times were all posted on the final day, with Mark Webber's fourth quickest time being the exception; the Australian's fastest lap being set on day three.

Weather conditions during the four days mean times need to be taken with a pinch of salt, with Sebastian Vettel, Lewis Hamilton and Felipe Massa amongst the drivers to end the test well down the combined times thanks to the fact they completed their programmes on the wet opening days. Vettel's best time was only twelfth quickest overall, but was fastest on day one. Rubens Barrichello ended the time with the second slowest lap, despite being the quickest man on track on day two.

Perhaps a better indicator of the progress being made by the teams comes in the number of laps logged during the Jerez test, with Williams completing more laps than anyone with the new FW32. Nico Hulkenberg was the busiest man on track as he managed 275 laps, ahead of Ferrari's Fernando Alonso and Toro Rosso's Jaime Alguersuari.

Interestingly, Lotus completed more than double the laps of fellow newcomers Virgin on its first outing on track as the latter dealt with issues on the VR-01 during the week. In fact, Jarno Trulli's 141 laps on the final day was nearly as many as Timo Glock and Lucas di Grassi managed between them over the full session.

Lotus has now managed more running in its first test than Virgin has completed in two tests in Spain.

Combined testing times - Jerez:

1. Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 1m 18.871s
2. Robert Kubica Renault 1m 19.114s
3. Kamui Kobayashi Sauber-Ferrari 1m 19.188s
4. Mark Webber Red Bull-Renault 1m 19.299s
5. Vitantonio Liuzzi Force India-Mercedes 1m 19.650s
6. Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1m 20.061s
7. Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1m 20.115s
8. Jaime Alguersuari Scuderia Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1m 21.053s
9. Nico Hulkenberg Williams-Cosworth 1m 21.432s
10. Michael Schumacher Mercedes 1m 21.437s
11. Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 1m 21.939s
12. Timo Glock Virgin-Cosworth 1m 22.433s
13. Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault 1m 22.593s
14. Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 1m 23.017s
15. Felipe Massa Ferrari 1m 23.204s
16. Sebastien Buemi Scuderia Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1m 23.322s
17. Pedro de la Rosa Sauber-Ferrari 1m 23.367s
18. Jarno Trulli Lotus-Cosworth 1m 23.470s
19. Lucas di Grassi Virgin-Cosworth 1m 23.504s
20. Heikki Kovalainen Lotus-Cosworth 1m 23.521s
21. Paul di Resta Force India-Mercedes 1m 25.088s
22. Vitaly Petrov Renault 1m 26.237s
23. Rubens Barrichello Williams-Cosworth 1m 27.145s
24. Fairuz Fauzy Lotus-Cosworth 1m 31.848s

Laps completed - drivers:

1. Nico Hulkenberg Williams-Cosworth 275
2. Fernando Alonso Ferrari 269
3. Jaime Alguersuari Scuderia Toro Rosso-Ferrari 259
4. Robert Kubica Renault 217
5. Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 209
6. Rubens Barrichello Williams-Cosworth 207
7. Mark Webber Red Bull-Renault 202
8. Nico Rosberg Mercedes 201
9. Michael Schumacher Mercedes 190
10. Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault 173
11. Felipe Massa Ferrari 164
12. Kamui Kobayashi Sauber-Ferrari 145
13. Jarno Trulli Lotus-Cosworth 141
14. Sebastien Buemi Scuderia Toro Rosso-Ferrari 136
15. Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 129
16. Vitaly Petrov Renault 115
17. Timo Glock Virgin-Cosworth 110
18. Paul di Resta Force India-Mercedes 109
19. Vitantonio Liuzzi Force India-Mercedes 104
20. Heikki Kovalainen Lotus-Cosworth 98
21. Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 97
22. Pedro de la Rosa Sauber-Ferrari 85
23. Fairuz Fauzy Lotus-Cosworth 76
24. Lucas di Grassi Virgin-Cosworth 34

Laps completed - cars:

1. FW32 Williams-Cosworth 482
2. F10 Ferrari 433
3. STR5 Scuderia Toro Rosso-Ferrari 395
4. W01 Mercedes 391
5. RB6 Red Bull-Renault 375
6. MP4-25 McLaren-Mercedes 338
7. R30 Renault 332
8. T127 Lotus-Cosworth 315
9. VJM03 Force India-Mercedes 310
10. C29 Sauber-Ferrari 230
11. VR-01 Virgin-Cosworth 144


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment