The youngest players in Formula One bowed out at the end of first qualifying for the Bahrain Grand Prix, with youngest driver Jaime Alguersuari joining the three newest teams in missing the cut.

As expected, Lotus, Virgin and Hispania all failed to summon up the pace to get either of their drivers through to the second phase of the knock-out session but, with the expanded grid, a seventh victim was to be had in the 20-minute outing, and it was Alguersuari - who broke records as the youngest driver ever to take part in a grand prix in 2009 - who fell through the trap door in the closing seconds.

It had been Sauber duo Kamui Kobayashi and Pedro de la Rosa who initially looked in danger, with the Japanese rookie improving from the P18 danger zone and dumping his veteran team-mate into peril. When de la Rosa then replicated Kobayashi's rise to 15th, however, it left Alguersuari in the hot seat with no recourse to an improvement of his own.

For the record, Virgin Racing scored the first blow in its battle with Lotus, as Timo Glock claimed 19th place, ahead of Jarno Trulli, Heikki Kovalainen, with Virgin team-mate Lucas di Grassi in 22nd. HRT also got both its cars on track for the first time all weekend, with Karun Chandhok thrown into the deep end. The Indian, however, did a solid job, improving a 2min 21secs first flier into a 2min 04.904secs best that was just 1.7secs off team-mate Bruno Senna.

At the front of the field, Fernando Alonso again posted the fastest time, a 1min 54.612secs effort, to beat off Sebastian Vettel, Adrian Sutil, Mark Webber and Felipe Massa.