F1 »

F1 2010 driver salaries revealed – who earns the most?

An up-to-date list of F1 driver salaries has been published, revealing just who is being paid what this season - and what kind of performance return they are giving for their remuneration...
The annual list of F1 salaries has again been published, with two world champions topping the list and a driver who is not even competing on the grand prix grid this year – coming in at third place.

The report – published by Spanish newspaper El Mundo and citing information compiled by Business Book GP – revealed that Ferrari star Fernando Alonso is on a retainer of some €30 million, supplemented by his external endorsements.

That is almost twice the salary that the Oviedo native's former team-mate and sworn rival currently Lewis Hamilton earns at McLaren-Mercedes, whose €16 million pay packet is virtually the same as what World Rally Championship convert Kimi Raikkonen is receiving as the Finn continues to benefit handsomely indeed from his early Ferrari pay-off.

Next up is Felipe Massa on €14 million – notably, less than half of what team-mate Alonso is on – with defending F1 World Champion Jenson Button fifth on €9 million, just ahead of Mercedes Grand Prix's Michael Schumacher, whose €8 million remuneration is arguably generous indeed for the comparatively poor on-track return that the German legend has provided on his desperately disappointing comeback to active competition thus far this year.

In a laudable policy of equality, however, Schumacher's team-mate Nico Rosberg is on exactly the same retainer with Renault F1's Robert Kubica – in many observers' eyes, the star of the season to-date – on €7.5 million.

A significant surprise if the findings are accurate, is that both Williams' ultra-experienced veteran Rubens Barrichello is on more money at €5.5 million than either current world championship leader Mark Webber or Sebastian Vettel at Red Bull Racing, with the Australian perhaps similarly unexpectedly receiving more than the German with €4.2 million to €2 million – though both are understood to be on substantial bonus agreements for every victory notched up.

Lotus Racing's Jarno Trulli also outpoints Vettel in the basic salary stakes on €3 million, with team-mate Heikki Kovalainen on a basic retainer of around €2 million, Timo Glock for fellow F1 2010 newcomer Virgin Racing on €1 million and Williams rookie Nico Hülkenberg on €700,000.

Bringing up the rear of the list are Sauber duo Pedro de la Rosa and Kamui Kobayashi on €500,000 apiece, Renault's Vitaly Petrov and Scuderia Toro Rosso pairing Jaime Alguersuari and Sébastien Buemi on €400,000 each and Force India's Adrian Sutil and Vitantonio Liuzzi and Virgin new boy Lucas di Grassi all on €200,000. The final 'paid' driver, Hispania Racing's Bruno Senna, is on just €150,000 – or, to put it into perspective, roughly 200 times less than Alonso.

The figures make Ferrari comfortably the highest spender of the year in terms of driver expense, with (€60 million) or without (€44 million) Raikkonen taken into consideration, as the full list below shows. The ranking on the far right is current championship position.


1. Fernando Alonso Ferrari €30m 5th
2. Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes €16m 2nd
3. Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari €16m N/A
4. Felipe Massa Ferrari €14m 6th
5. Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes €9m 4th
6. Michael Schumacher Mercedes Grand Prix €8m 9th
7. Nico Rosberg Mercedes Grand Prix €8m 7th
8. Robert Kubica Renault F1 €7.5m 8th
9. Rubens Barrichello Williams F1 €5.5m 11th
10. Mark Webber Red Bull Racing €4.2m 1st
11. Jarno Trulli Lotus Racing €3m 19th=
12. Sebastian Vettel Red Bull Racing €2m 3rd
13. Heikki Kovalainen Lotus Racing €2m 19th=
14. Timo Glock Virgin Racing €1m 19th=
15. Nico Hülkenberg Williams F1 €700,000 15th
16. Pedro de la Rosa Sauber €500,000 17th
17. Kamui Kobayashi Sauber €500,000 12th=
18. Vitaly Petrov Renault F1 €400,000 12th=
19. Jaime Alguersuari Scuderia Toro Rosso €400,000 18th
20. Sébastien Buemi Scuderia Toro Rosso €400,000 16th
21. Adrian Sutil Force India F1 €200,000 10th
22. Vitantonio Liuzzi Force India F1 €200,000 14th
23. Lucas Di Grassi Virgin Racing €200,000 19th=
24. Bruno Senna Hispania Racing €150,000 19th=
25. Karun Chandhok Hispania Racing €Nil 19th=
26. Sakon Yamamoto Hispania Racing €Nil 19th =


1. Ferrari €60m 3rd
2. McLaren-Mercedes €25m 2nd
3. Mercedes Grand Prix €16m 4th
4. Renault F1 €7.9m 5th
5. Red Bull Racing €6.2m 1st
6. Williams F1 €6.2m 7th
7. Lotus Racing €5m 10th=
8. Virgin Racing €1.2m 10th=
9. Sauber €1m 8th
10. Scuderia Toro Rosso €800,000 9th
11. Force India F1 €400,000 6th
12. Hispania Racing €150,000 10th=

To compare to the 2009 salaries, click here

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Start of the Race
Race, start
Race, start
Race, start, Sebastian Vettel (GER), Red Bull Racing, RB6
14.03.2010 Sakhir, Bahrain,  Drivers 2010 - Formula 1 World Championship, Rd 1, Bahrain Grand Prix, Sunday
14.03.2010 Sakhir, Bahrain,  2010 Drivers group pictures - Formula 1 World Championship, Rd 1, Bahrain Grand Prix, Sunday
25.06.2017 - Race, Sebastian Vettel (GER) Scuderia Ferrari SF70H and Lewis Hamilton (GBR) Mercedes AMG F1 W08
25.06.2017 - Race, Sebastian Vettel (GER) Scuderia Ferrari SF70H and Lewis Hamilton (GBR) Mercedes AMG F1 W08
25.06.2017 - Race, The race stopped, Fernando Alonso (ESP) McLaren MCL32 and the Safety car
25.06.2017 - Race, The race stopped
25.06.2017 - Race, Lewis Hamilton (GBR) Mercedes AMG F1 W08
25.06.2017 - Race, The Safety car and Lewis Hamilton (GBR) Mercedes AMG F1 W08
25.06.2017 - Race, Carlos Sainz Jr (ESP) Scuderia Toro Rosso STR12 and Fernando Alonso (ESP) McLaren MCL32
25.06.2017 - Race, Esteban Ocon (FRA) Sahara Force India F1 VJM10 and Felipe Massa (BRA) Williams FW40
25.06.2017 - Race, Sergio Perez (MEX) Sahara Force India F1 VJM010 and Sebastian Vettel (GER) Scuderia Ferrari SF70H
25.06.2017 - Race, Lewis Hamilton (GBR) Mercedes AMG F1 W08 and the Safety car
25.06.2017 - Race, Fernando Alonso (ESP) McLaren MCL32 and Marcus Ericsson (SUE) Sauber C36
25.06.2017 - Race, Kimi Raikkonen (FIN) Scuderia Ferrari SF70H

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.