F1 »

FIA set to reveal new team 'soon'

FIA moves closer to revealing the 13th team for the 2011 F1 season
The FIA is expected to reveal its decision over who will secure the 13th slot on the 2011 F1 grid 'within the next few days'.

With ART Grand Prix and the Cypher Group having dropped out of the race to replace USF1 on the grid, the fight for the vacant slot is believed to be between Stefan GP, Durango/Villeneuve and Epsilon Euskadi.

That shortlist could yet to reduced to two with reports in recent days suggesting that Epsilon Euskadi could instead approach fellow Spaniards Hispania Racing about joining forces in a move which could prove to be a better option for both parties.

Should that happen, then the collaboration between Durango and former F1 title winner Jacques Villeuenve is likely to emerge as the favourite for the role and the Canadian said he had been told to expect a decision before the end of the month.

"We did our presentation to a panel and there was no immediate reaction, but everyone seemed pleased," he told La Presse Canadienne. "We don't know whether another group made a presentation or not. I know we did a good presentation. It's all or nothing; either it works and it's great, or they say no and everything we've done falls into the water. The decision will be made at the end of the month."

While a decision is due anytime soon, Villeneuve added that he was hoping it wouldn't interfere with his latest NASCAR outing this weekend in Montreal.

"I hope nothing is announced during the race weekend,” he said. “I don't want to spend my weekend discussing Formula One. But if there is a positive outcome, I will put all my efforts into building this team."

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Race, start
The Start of the race
Start of the Race
2014 FIA European F3 champion Esteban Ocon is to test with Lotus F1
12.10.2014- Race, Jenson Button (GBR) McLaren Mercedes MP4-29
12.10.2014- Race, the start
12.10.2014- Race, Sebastian Vettel (GER) Infiniti Red Bull Racing RB10
12.10.2014- Vitaly Mutko (RUS) Minister of Sport of the Russian Federation
12.10.2014- Race, Kimi Raikkonen (FIN) Scuderia Ferrari F14T
12.10.2014- Race, Kevin Magnussen (DEN) McLaren Mercedes MP4-29
12.10.2014- Race, Lewis Hamilton (GBR) Mercedes AMG F1 W05 in the press conference after the race
12.10.2014- Race, Lewis Hamilton (GBR) Mercedes AMG F1 W05 celebrates Manufactor title of Mercedes with the team
12.10.2014- Race, Romain Grosjean (FRA) Lotus F1 Team E22
12.10.2014- Race, Fernando Alonso (ESP) Scuderia Ferrari F14T
12.10.2014-  Sebastian Vettel (GER) Infiniti Red Bull Racing RB10 with a fan
12.10.2014- Fabiana Flosi (BRA)
12.10.2014- Race, Lewis Hamilton (GBR) Mercedes AMG F1 W05
12.10.2014- Max Chilton (GBR), Marussia F1 Team MR03 and all the Marussia F1 Team show a panel for Jules Bianchi (FRA) Marussia F1 Team MR03

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2014 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.