Following the reunion of the FIA World Motor Sport Council (WMSC) in Paris today, the governing body has announced that there will be no new teams joining the grand prix grid in F1 2011 after 'none of the candidates met the requirements'.

There were believed to be three shortlisted applicants to fill the available 13th slot next year left vacant by the defunct USF1 effort - the combined Jacques Villeneuve/Durango Villeneuve Racing bid, unsuccessful 2010 hopeful Stefan GP and Joan Villadelprat's moderately successful single-seater and sportscar operation Epsilon Euskadi.

However, following the withdrawal from the process of the hitherto perceived favourite - multiple GP2 Series and F3 Euroseries champions ART Grand Prix - the FIA has now deemed that none of the alternative propositions make the grade, doubtless wary of again falling into the trap of granting entry to a team that is not ready for it, as happened with the embarrassing case of USF1.

Related Articles

'Following the press release of 19 March, 2010 calling for expressions of interest to participate in the 2011 and 2012 seasons of the FIA Formula One World Championship, a number of parties expressed their interest,' read an official statement from the governing body. 'It was considered that none of the candidates met the requirements to be granted an entry into the championship. Consequently, the allocation of the 13th team will not be granted.'