F1 »

POLL: Who will claim the 2010 title?

As the F1 2010 travelling circus arrives in Singapore this coming weekend for the sport's third-ever night race, five drivers - Mark Webber, Lewis Hamilton, Fernando Alonso, Jenson Button and Sebastian Vettel - remain in contention for the crown...but who will win it?
So, five grands prix to go, five drivers in it, all covered by fewer points than are awarded for a race victory – and the greatest trophy in the sport up for grabs. Who do you think will clinch the F1 2010 crown?

The situation heading east for this weekend's third edition of the popular, floodlit Singapore Grand Prix is as follows: Mark Webber leads on 187 points, Lewis Hamilton is next up on 182, and pursuers Fernando Alonso, Jenson Button and Sebastian Vettel all find themselves blanketed by just three points on respectively 166, 165 and 163. Not since 1981 has it been so close – or so unpredictable.

On the basis that he still heads the standings following what should theoretically have been two of Red Bull Racing's toughest weekends of the season at Spa-Francorchamps and Monza – with all of the remaining circuits expected to suit the Adrian Newey-designed RB6 rather better – Webber is arguably in the strongest position, and is also the 'winningest' driver of the campaign thus far, with four successes to his name from 14 starts.

However, to discount Hamilton would be folly, for the McLaren-Mercedes star is nothing if not determined, and as a pure racer there are few to genuinely rival him. If any of the quintet is truly capable of outperforming the equipment at his disposal, it is Lewis, and don't forget that the 25-year-old already has experience of tense title-deciders from his near-miss in 2007 and triumph in 2008, which could prove to be an invaluable benefit should the duel go all the way down to the wire.

Alonso and Button, similarly, know what it takes to lift the laurels, and both have been written off on more occasions this year than they have been touted for glory. The Spaniard seems capable of springing a surprise just when one is least anticipated, whilst his British adversary is the master of turning disadvantageous race day situations around to his benefit whenever the weather takes a turn or strategy becomes the order of the day.

As to Webber's team-mate Vettel, many have opined that in the light of the young German's series of calamitous, impetuosity-driven errors in F1 2010 – not least of which those committed in Turkey and Belgium – he is not ready to vie for the ultimate prize just yet. On out-and-out raw speed, though, the 23-year-old has been the benchmark this season – with pole position in half of the races contested – and he indisputably has the full support of his team behind him.

So who will it be, in the end – Webber, Hamilton, Alonso, Button or Vettel? Have your say by voting in our poll right here, and don't forget to post your comments on the subject too by clicking on the link below.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Saturday Practice, Sebastian Vettel (GER), Red Bull Racing, RB6
Race, Fernando Alonso (ESP), Scuderia Ferrari, F10 race winner and Jenson Button (GBR), McLaren  Mercedes, MP4-25
Friday Practice 1, Lewis Hamilton (GBR), McLaren  Mercedes, MP4-25
Thursday, Mark Webber (AUS), Red Bull Racing, RB6
Thursday, Press conference, Fernando Alonso (ESP), Scuderia Ferrari, F10, Mark Webber (AUS), Red Bull Racing, RB6, Lewis Hamilton (GBR), McLaren  Mercedes, MP4-25 and Jenson Button (GBR), McLaren  Mercedes, MP4-25
Qualifying, Sebastian Vettel (GER), Red Bull Racing, RB6 pole position, Mark Webber (AUS), Red Bull Racing, RB6 2nd position and Lewis Hamilton (GBR), McLaren  Mercedes, MP4-25 3rd position
Sebastian Vettel, Kyle Busch, Kurt Busch, ROC [Credit: ROC]
Juan Pablo Montoya celebrates after winning the 2017 Race of Champions title in Miami [Pic credit: ROC]
Race of Champions 2017, action [Pic credit: ROC]
Juan Pablo Monotya. Race of Champions 2017, action [Pic credit: ROC]
2017 Race of Champions line-up in Miami [Pic credit: ROC]
Kevin Magnussen - Haas F1 Team [credit: Haas F1 Team]
Ayrton Senna - McLaren. 1993 Donington Park
Nico Hulkenberg - Renault Sport F1
Renault Formula One Team, launch date, [Credit: Renault F1]
Force India reveals the launch date for its 2017 F1 challenge
Lewis Hamilton and Valtteri Bottas
Lando Norris, McLaren Autosport BRDC Awards [Credit: Martyn Pass PR]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

Dangerous Dave - Unregistered

September 22, 2010 6:14 PM

I pray its Mark Webber. As a representative of sportsmanship in F1. Mark Webber would be the most deserving to take the WDC in 2010, bearing in mind all the obstacles that have been placed in his path, particularly by Red Bull F1, hopefully McLaren can win the constructors title then by way of poetic justice!

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.