F1 »

2011 F1 entry list revealed

The FIA publishes the first entry list for the 2011 F1 season with plenty still to be announced over the winter
The FIA has revealed the entry list for the 2011 F1 season, which features only six teams with fully established driver pairings for the new campaign.

Red Bull, McLaren, Ferrari, Mercedes and Lotus will all field unchanged driver pairings – the latter being confirmed by the publication of the entry list – while Sauber will bring in Sergio Perez as partner to Kamui Kobayashi.

Renault and Williams have confirmed only Robert Kubica and Rubens Barrichello respectively, with Vitaly Petrov and Pastor Maldonado rumoured to be the men who will fill the vacant seats for 2011.

Despite a mixed debut season, Petrov is expected to retain his Renault drive while GP2 champion Maldonado is the hot favourite to take Nico Hulkenberg's Williams drive.

Force India has yet to confirm its drivers despite Tonio Liuzzi having a contract in place for 2011 while Toro Rosso also has no drivers named despite the fact that both Sebastien Buemi and Jaime Alguersuari have deals in place. Buemi in particular has come under fire in the past week for his performances during the latter stages of 2010 with Daniel Ricciardo linked to his seat.

Neither Hispania or Virgin have named drivers, although Timo Glock looks a certainty to stay with the latter.

The entry list also confirms Virgin's rebranding as Marussia Virgin for the 2011 season while Sauber drops the BMW moniker it retained on the official entry list this year.

Interesting, Lotus is also named as Team Lotus on the official entry despite the ongoing wrangling between the team and Group Lotus over the rights to the name.

2011 F1 entry list:

1. Sebastian Vettel Red Bull Racing
2. Mark Webber Red Bull Racing
3. Jenson Button Vodafone McLaren Mercedes
4. Lewis Hamilton Vodafone McLaren Mercedes
5. Fernando Alonso Scuderia Ferrari Marlboro
6. Felipe Massa Scuderia Ferrari Marlboro
7. Michael Schumacher Mercedes GP Petronas F1 Team
8. Nico Rosberg Mercedes GP Petronas F1 Team
9. Robert Kubica Renault F1 Team
10. TBA Renault F1 Team
11. Rubens Barrichello AT&T Williams
12. TBA AT&T Williams
14. TBA Force India F1 Team
15. TBA Force India F1 Team
16. Kamui Kobayashi Sauber F1 Team
17. Sergio Perez Sauber F1 Team
18. TBA Scuderia Toro Rosso
19. TBA Scuderia Toro Rosso
20. Jarno Trulli Team Lotus
21. Heikki Kovalainen Team Lotus
22. TBA HRT F1 Team
23. TBA HRT F1 Team
24. TBA Marussia Virgin Racing
25. TBA Marussia Virgin Racing

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Race, start
Race, start
Race, start
Race, start
Valtteri Bottas, Nico Rosberg
Valtteri Bottas - Mercedes AMG Petronas
Valtteri Bottas - Mercedes AMG Petronas
Valtteri Bottas - Mercedes AMG Petronas
Valtteri Bottas - Mercedes AMG Petronas
Ayrton Senna - McLaren. 1993 Donington Park
Nico Hulkenberg - Renault Sport F1
Renault Formula One Team, launch date, [Credit: Renault F1]
Nigel Mansell - McLaren-Mercedes
Lewis Hamilton and Valtteri Bottas
Who will replace Nico Rosberg at Mercedes?
Who will replace Nico Rosberg at Mercedes?
Lando Norris, McLaren Autosport BRDC Awards [Credit: Martyn Pass PR]
Lewis Hamilton tests the 2017 F1 tyres in Abu Dhabi [credit: Pirelli]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.