F1 »

BRDC honours Moss, Stewart

Sir Stirling Moss and Sir Jackie Stewart joined current and future greats in being honoured at the annual BRDC awards ceremony.
The British Racing Drivers' Club celebrated the 2010 motorsport season at a star-studded Annual Awards dinner on Monday, with two of the club's knights of the realm – Sir Stirling Moss and Sir Jackie Stewart OBE centre stage.

The courage and bravery of BRDC vice-president for life Moss was acknowledged by his racing peers and colleagues, as the 81-year old British racing icon was awarded the Innes Ireland Trophy following his recovery from serious injury and his return to the track earlier in the year. Sir Jackie Stewart's exceptional contribution to the BRDC and motor racing as a sport was also recognised, with the Scot being awarded a BRDC Gold Medal.

Elsewhere, F1 title contender Mark Webber just managed to beat World Touring Car driver Andy Priaulx to the BRDC's premier annual award, the Gold Star/Richard Seaman Trophy, and also managed to snare the Bruce McLaren Trophy, awarded to the Commonwealth driver who has established the most meritorious performances in international motor racing.

The achievements of Britain's two F1 drivers, Lewis Hamilton and Jenson Button, were also recognised, with the two McLaren team-mates being awarded the Graham Hill and ERA Club trophies respectively. Red Bull's F1 success, meanwhile, was further celebrated by Adrian Newey who collected the Sir Jackie Stewart Award, presented annually to a motor sport engineer who has shown brilliance during the course of the season.

Other F1 'winners' included Virgin Racing boss John Booth - who picked up the Colin Chapman Trophy, a special award presented to an individual who has shown great team spirit, be it a driver, team owner, engineer or similar - and Fernando Alonso, whose Johnny Wakefield Trophy is awarded to the driver setting the fastest race lap of the season on the Silverstone Grand Prix circuit.

IndyCar champion Dario Franchitti, BTCC ace Gordon Shedden, former F1 hopeful turned sportscar star Anthony Davidson, F3 champion and Toro Rosso test driver Jean-Eric Vergne, sports prototype frontrunners Timo Bernhard, Allan McNish, Andy Wallace, Mike Newton and Strakka Racing, F3 racewinner James Calado, FRenault champion Tom Blomqvist, F2 champion and Williams tester Dean Stoneman and new McLaren Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Lewis Williamson were all also on the receiving end of silverware.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Celebration, Sebastian Vettel (GER), Red Bull Racing, RB6 race winner and 2010 champion, Christian Horner (GBR), Red Bull Racing, Sporting Director and Adrian Newey (GBR), Red Bull Racing , Technical Operations Director

Fernando Alonso (ESP), Scuderia Ferrari
Saturday Practice, Mark Webber (AUS), Red Bull Racing, RB6
Thursday, Lewis Hamilton (GBR), McLaren  Mercedes, MP4-25 and Jenson Button (GBR), McLaren  Mercedes, MP4-25
Thursday, Sir Jackie Stewart (GBR)
Sir Stirling Moss at the British Women Racing Drivers Club Awards
Pietro Fittipaldi leads Harrison Newey in MRF Challenge
Mick Schumacher leads Harrison Newey in MRF Challenge Series in India
Lewis Hamilton
Roscoe and Coco [credit: @LewisHamilton on Twitter]
Lewis Hamilton, Toto Wolff, Nico Rosberg
Daniel Juncadella, Stars & Cars 2015 winner, with Pascal Wehrlein and Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes-Benz Arena Stuttgart [Pic credit: Mercedes]
Daniel Juncadella, Stars & Cars 2015 winner, with Pascal Wehrlein and Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes-Benz Arena Stuttgart [Pic credit: Mercedes]
Will Palmer, McLaren Autosport BRDC award, [Credit: MSV media]
Will Palmer, McLaren Autosport BRDC award, [Credit: MSV media]
Lewis Hamilton with the F1 drivers` championship trophy at FIA Prize Giving Gala
Jenson Button - McLaren-Honda
29.11.2015 - Race, 1st position Nico Rosberg (GER) Mercedes AMG F1 W06 race winner, 2nd position Lewis Hamilton (GBR) Mercedes AMG F1 W06 and 3rd position Kimi Raikkonen (FIN) Scuderia Ferrari SF15-T

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.