F1 »

Williamson wins BRDC McLaren Autosport Award

Lewis Williamson has become the latest driver to etch his name on the BRDC McLaren Autosport Young Driver of the Year Award.
Lewis Williamson will become the latest in a long linen of young British race drivers to get the chance to sample F1 power with McLaren after being named as the latest McLaren Autosport BRDC Award winner.

As well as the prize drive, the 21-year old Scot also collects an increased £100,000 reward to put towards his programme for next season. Despite missing out on the Formula Renault UK title this year, Williamson became the eighth winner to come from the one-make championship, overcoming eventual champion Tom Blomqvist in the two-day shoot-out at Silverstone last month.

“I'm just in shock,” the Manor Competition driver admitted on stage at London's Grosvenor House Hotel, “I just did what I've done all year; give it 100%. That's all you can do.”

Williamson, who secured a series-high five wins in 2010, was presented with his award by former winners - and fellow Scots - David Coulthard and Paul di Resta, the latter, now DTM champion, having also graduated from FRenault. The 21-year old Williamson was one of three drivers from the series among the finalists – along with Blomqvist and Eurocup runner-up Luciano Bacheta – and also had to see off the challenge of FBMW Europe runner-up Jack Harvey, British FFord runner-up Scott Malvern and Formula Palmer Audi champion Nigel Moore.

Williamson also had to work hard to impress a judging panel which included F1 veteran Derek Warwick, DTM ace Jamie Green and double BTCC champion Jason Plato, as he completed a number of tests including a track assessment at Silverstone's new South circuit in both an F2 car and a DTM machine and runs on a simulator.

The Scot may have to wait a while for his F1 run, with the two most recent winners of the award, Alexander Sims and Dean Smith, only recently having received their chance at Silverstone. Williamson will also have to make a little history if he is to reach the top flight, as no FRenault driver winning the prestigious BRDC McLaren Autosport accolade has yet made it to the F1 grid. Darren Turner was the first winner to represent Formula Renault UK, but has since made his name in touring and sports cars, while Green and Oliver Jarvis headed for the DTM, and Alex Lloyd to IndyCars. Sims has moved up the ladder to F3 and Smith to GP3, while di Resta stands the best chance of pipping Williamson after claiming this year's DTM championship and edging closer to a possible Force India F1 seat.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Lewis Williamson wins BRDC McLaren Autosport Young Driver of the Year Award

Gary Paffett (GBR), McLaren Mercedes
Lewis Williamson wins BRDC McLaren Autosport Young Driver of the Year Award
Alfonso Celis Jr, Force India, F1 [Credit: Force India]
15.11.2015 - Race, A Ferrari fan
15.11.2015 - Race, Max Verstappen (NED) Scuderia Toro Rosso STR10
15.11.2015 - Race, Nico Rosberg (GER) Mercedes AMG F1 W06 waves to the fans
15.11.2015 - Race, Felipe Nasr (BRA) Sauber C34 leads Jenson Button (GBR)  McLaren Honda MP4-30.
15.11.2015 - Race, Daniil Kvyat (RUS) Red Bull Racing RB11 leads Sebastian Vettel (GER) Scuderia Ferrari SF15-T
15.11.2015 - Race, Felipe Nasr (BRA) Sauber C34
15.11.2015 - Race, Kimi Raikkonen (FIN) Scuderia Ferrari SF15-T
15.11.2015 - Race, Daniil Kvyat (RUS) Red Bull Racing RB11 leads Lewis Hamilton (GBR) Mercedes AMG F1 W06
15.11.2015 - Race, Pastor Maldonado (VEN) Lotus F1 Team E23
15.11.2015 - Race, Romain Grosjean (FRA) Lotus F1 Team E23
15.11.2015 - Race, Kimi Raikkonen (FIN) Scuderia Ferrari SF15-T and Fernando Alonso (ESP) McLaren Honda MP4-30
15.11.2015 - Race, William Stevens (GBR) Manor Marussia F1 Team and Nico Hulkenberg (GER) Sahara Force India F1 VJM08
15.11.2015 - Race, Sergio Perez (MEX) Sahara Force India F1 VJM08 and Daniel Ricciardo (AUS) Red Bull Racing RB11
15.11.2015 - Race, Valtteri Bottas (FIN) Williams F1 Team FW37

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.