The FIA institute has revealed the shortlist of drivers who will do battle to secure a place on the Young Driver Excellence Academy.

The shortlist of 19 includes drivers from around the world and from a range of disciplines, with single-seater racers like Philipp Eng, Josef Newgarden and Alexander Rossi going up against rally drivers including Andreas Mikkelsen, Adam Gould and Kevin Abbring to secure a place on the ten driver academy.

The 19 drivers will take place in a three-day shootout before the final ten is decided, with former F1 driver Alex Wurz and former WRC title-winning co-driver Robert Reid leading the selection process and training programme.

Related Articles

"This is a trial year for the Academy programme but we are already thrilled by the positive response we've received so far," Richard Woods, the FIA Institute Director General, said. "We are pleased to be able to help young competitors at this important stage of their development and to do so in a way that ensures that safety is always at the forefront throughout their careers."

The list of drivers aiming to earn a place on the academy is as follows:

Kevin Abbring Netherlands Hamad Ahmed Al Fardan Bahrain Paul-Loup Chatin France Albert Costa Spain Alon Day Israel Philipp Eng Austria Robin Frijns Netherlands Adam Gould UK Timmy Hansen Sweden Egon Kaur Estonia Andreas Mikkelsen Norway Josef Newgarden USA Norman Nato France Alexander Rossi USA Jan Skala Czech Republic Richie Stanaway New Zealand Molly Taylor Australia Stoffel Vandoorne Belgium Joni Wiman Finland