F1 »

FIA names Academy shortlist

The FIA reveals the drivers who will try to win a place on the new Young Driver Excellence Academy scheme
The FIA institute has revealed the shortlist of drivers who will do battle to secure a place on the Young Driver Excellence Academy.

The shortlist of 19 includes drivers from around the world and from a range of disciplines, with single-seater racers like Philipp Eng, Josef Newgarden and Alexander Rossi going up against rally drivers including Andreas Mikkelsen, Adam Gould and Kevin Abbring to secure a place on the ten driver academy.

The 19 drivers will take place in a three-day shootout before the final ten is decided, with former F1 driver Alex Wurz and former WRC title-winning co-driver Robert Reid leading the selection process and training programme.

"This is a trial year for the Academy programme but we are already thrilled by the positive response we've received so far," Richard Woods, the FIA Institute Director General, said. "We are pleased to be able to help young competitors at this important stage of their development and to do so in a way that ensures that safety is always at the forefront throughout their careers."

The list of drivers aiming to earn a place on the academy is as follows:

Kevin Abbring Netherlands
Hamad Ahmed Al Fardan Bahrain
Paul-Loup Chatin France
Albert Costa Spain
Alon Day Israel
Philipp Eng Austria
Robin Frijns Netherlands
Adam Gould UK
Timmy Hansen Sweden
Egon Kaur Estonia
Andreas Mikkelsen Norway
Josef Newgarden USA
Norman Nato France
Alexander Rossi USA
Jan Skala Czech Republic
Richie Stanaway New Zealand
Molly Taylor Australia
Stoffel Vandoorne Belgium
Joni Wiman Finland

Tagged as: FIA , Wurz , Reid , academy

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
FIA Trucks, Turkish F1, Istanbul Park, 5th-7th June, 2009
FIA Trucks, Turkish F1, Istanbul Park, 5th-7th June, 2009
FIA Trucks, Turkish F1, Istanbul Park, 5th-7th June, 2009
27.11.2016 - Race, Roger Federer (SUI) tennis player and Bernd Maylander (GER) FIA Safety Car Driver
27.11.2016 - Race, Gerard Berger (AUT), Michael
27.11.2016 - Fia group photo, Michael
27.11.2016 - Fia group photo, Michael
27.11.2016 - Fia group photo
26.11.2016 - Qualifying, Massimo Rivola (ITA), Ferrari Driver Academy and Charles Leclerc (MON)
25.11.2016 - Michael
25.11.2016 - Michael
10.11.2016 - Mika Salo (FIN), FIA Steward
30.10.2016 - Race, José Abed (MEX) Vice-President FIA
30.10.2016 - José Abed (MEX) Vice-President FIA
29.10.2016 - Bernd Maylander (GER) FIA Safety Car Driver
29.10.2016 - Free Practice 3, (L-R) Chase Carey (USA) Formula One Group Chairman and Danny Sullivan (USA) Fia steward
27.10.2016 - Kevin Magnussen (DEN) Renault Sport F1 Team RS16 and Danny Sullivan (USA) , FIA Steward
23.10.2016 - Race, Bernd Maylander (GER) FIA Safety Car Driver and Gordon Ramsay (GBR), Celebrity Chef.

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.