Sebastian Vettel once again pulled out a stunning lap to upset the formbook and claim pole position for the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, equalling Nigel Mansell's record of 14 in a single season.

Despite McLaren having been the pacesetter throughout the weekend until Q3, Vettel produced a near-perfect effort to duck more than a tenth under the target time set by Lewis Hamilton who had, in turn, pipped team-mate Jenson Button for provisional pole. The resurgent Briton will line up alongside the double world champion in Sunday's penultimate round, but the omens look disturbingly similar to India a fortnight ago.

Button will line up third, with the other Red Bull of Mark Webber alongside, as neither could summon enough to add their names to those of the front row starters as the only pole sitters in Abu Dhabi GP history. Fernando Alonso, meanwhile, could not improve on fifth place with his second run under the lights, and will share row three with Ferrari team-mate Felipe Massa.

Nico Rosberg pipped team-mate Michael Schumacher as the Mercedes drivers battled over seventh, while Adrian Sutil claimed the inside of row five as the only Force India driver to complete a flying lap in the final session.

Full times and report to follow....