Mark Webber may have missed out on fighting for the 2011 F1 title, but the Australian hasn't ended the season empty-handed after picking up the DHL Fastest Lap award on Friday in Interlagos.

Webber took his sixth fastest lap of the year in Abu Dhabi to put him out of reach of Red Bull team-mate Sebastian Vettel, and McLaren duo Lewis Hamilton and Jenson Button - all of whom have three fastest laps to the their name this season.

Webber was handed the award by DHL's Joakim Thrane, and former F1 racer Christian Danner in the Sao Paulo paddock on Friday, making him the fourth driver to take the honour since its creation in 2007 - with Kimi Raikkonen (twice), Vettel and Fernando Alonso the past winners.

"The DHL Fastest Lap Award represents speed and excellence, two values which have a strong resonance with DHL," Thrane said. "Mark Webber's achievement in winning the award also shows that no team can be successful without the hard work and commitment of its individual team members, which is very important to us as the international specialists.

"We'd like to thank Mark for his role in making Formula One such an exciting spectacle in 2011 and congratulate him on winning the DHL Fastest Lap Award for 2011."

DHL Fastest Lap Award*:

Mark Webber 6 Sebastian Vettel 3 Lewis Hamilton 3 Jenson Button 3 Felipe Massa 2 Fernando Alonso 1

* with one race still to run