Crash.Net F1 News

FIA confirms entry list for F1 2012

30 November 2011

The FIA has revealed the entry list for the F1 2012 season, with 15 drivers out of a possible 24 already confirmed.

Red Bull Racing, McLaren, Ferrari, Mercedes, Sauber and Caterham (formerly Team Lotus) will all field unchanged driver pairings.

Marussia (formerly Marussia Virgin Racing) will bring in Charles Pic alongside Timo Glock, as announced following the season ending Brazilian GP, while the Lotus F1 Team (formerly Lotus Renault GP or Renault) will of course run Kimi Raikkonen, who returns to the sport after spending the last two years competing in the World Rally Championship [see separate story - click here].

Raikkonen's team-mate has still to be announced, possibilities include Vitaly Petrov, Bruno Senna and Romain Grosjean.

Force India, Toro Rosso, Williams and HRT have no named drivers' on the list, although the latter has already announced Pedro de la Rosa. HRT's engine supplier is also listed as TBA.

Paul di Resta and Nico Hulkenberg are expected to make up the Force India line-up, when it is finally revealed by team boss, Vijay Mallya, while Toro Rosso is believed to be considering four drivers' - namely Sebastien Buemi, Jaime Alguersuari, Daniel Ricciardo and Jean-Eric Vergne.

At Williams, Pastor Maldonado is thought certain to stay alongside either Adrian Sutil or GP3 champion Valtteri Bottas.

2012 F1 entry list:

1. Sebastian Vettel Red Bull Racing Red Bull-Renault
2. Mark Webber Red Bull Racing Red Bull-Renault

3. Jenson Button Vodafone McLaren Mercedes McLaren-Mercedes
4. Lewis Hamilton Vodafone McLaren Mercedes McLaren-Mercedes

5. Fernando Alonso Scuderia Ferrari Ferrari
6. Felipe Massa Scuderia Ferrari Ferrari

7. Michael Schumacher Mercedes GP Petronas F1 Team Mercedes
8. Nico Rosberg Mercedes GP Petronas F1 Team Mercedes

9. Kimi Raikkonen Lotus F1 Team Lotus-Renault
10. TBA Lotus F1 Team Lotus-Renault

11. TBA Sahara Force India F1 Team Force India-Mercedes
12. TBA Sahara Force India F1 Team Force India-Mercedes

14. Kamui Kobayashi Sauber F1 Team Sauber-Ferrari
15. Sergio Perez Sauber F1 Team Sauber-Ferrari

16. TBA Scuderia Toro Rosso STR-Ferrari
17. TBA Scuderia Toro Rosso STR-Ferrari

18. TBA AT&T Williams Williams-Renault
19. TBA AT&T Williams Williams-Renault

20. Heikki Kovalainen Caterham F1 Team Caterham-Renault
21. Jarno Trulli Caterham F1 Team Caterham-Renault

22. TBA HRT F1 Team HRT-TBA*

24. Timo Glock Marussia F1 Team Marussia-Cosworth
25. Charles Pic Marussia F1 Team Marussia-Cosworth

* HRT has already announced Pedro de la Rosa, but his name is not on the entry list published by the FIA today.