F1 »

Newey, Surtees added to Hall of Fame

Adrian Newey joined John Surtees, Colin McRae and Giacomo Agostini among the 2012 inductees to Motor Sport's shrine to greatness.

World championship winning aerodynamicist Adrian Newey has been recognised for his contribution to the world of F1 by being added to the names gracing Motor Sport magazine's Hall of Fame.

Established three years ago, the 'shrine' has already been bestowed with inductees including Juan Manuel Fangio, Sir Stirling Moss and Ayrton Senna, and Newey was among the quartet deemed worthy of inclusion at the 2012 ceremony, alongside the late Colin McRae, bike ace Giacomo Agostini and John Surtees, the only man to have won world titles on two and four wheels.

Newey, the last man to take to the stage at London's Roundhouse, is the only designer to have won F1 constructors' championships with three different teams, having succeeded with Williams, McLaren and, most recently, Red Bull Racing. Having also been involved in race-winning efforts in IndyCar, the Briton's resume currently shows more than 80 grand prix victories and title success with the likes of Nigel Mansell, Alain Prost, Damon Hill, Mika Hakkinen and Sebastian Vettel. His most recent creation, the RB8, showed immediate promise in testing at Jerez last week in the hands of Vettel and team-mate Mark Webber.

“This is something I had never dreamt of, to have joined so many legends, so many people who I have followed, who I have aspired to when I was younger," Newey admitted, "It's an amazing feeling, it feels very special.”

Before team boss Christian Horner bestowed induction on Newey, Surtees received his place in the Hall from Moss, while Jimmy McRae and Nicky Grist - respectively father and former co-driver - accepted the posthumous accolade for McRae Jr from Sir Jackie Stewart. David Richards, Martin Brundle and Steve Parrish jointly presented 15-time world champion Agostini with his honour.

“We're very honoured - I don't think Colin realised what a popular guy he was," McRae Sr commented, "To be inaugurated into the Motor Sport Hall of Fame is special because it's mainly a racing community, so to be the first rally driver to win it is quite fantastic. As a family we are so honoured this has happened, everyone loved the Colin McRae style of driving and it's shown by the following he has.”

Born in 1934, Surtees was 500cc motorcycle world champion in 1956, '58, '59 and '60, before turning his attention to racing on four wheels and winning the F1 world title with Ferrari in 1964. Despite a few riders following in his footsteps, he remains the only person to have won championships in both disciplines. Since his retirement, he has championed the cause of young British talent, and is an ambassador of the Racing Steps Foundation.

Unsurprisingly, Surtees is already a member of the International Motorsports Hall of Fame, having been inducted in 1996, while the FIM tagged him as a Grand Prix Legend in 2003. Already the recipient of an MBE, he added an OBE in 2008 and remains the subject of numerous petitions calling for a knighthood.

“It's a new experience for me here," Surtees admitted, "I've been to the Hall of Fame in America, but it's nice to come along and join some of these luminaries in motor sport. Of course, it's a wonderful occasion tonight, celebrating the in-depth interest for motorsport itself.”

Among those in attendance on the night was Manish Pandey, the writer of the Senna movie which garnered its own honours at last weekend's BAFTA ceremony.

After three years of inductions, Motor Sport's Hall of Fame currently comprises:

Tazio Nuvolari
Enzo Ferrari
Juan Manuel Fangio
Sir Stirling Moss
Jim Clark
Sir Jackie Stewart
Ayrton Senna
Michael Schumacher.
Sir Frank Williams
Jody Scheckter
Dario Franchitti
Sir Jack Brabham
John Surtees
Colin McRae
Giacomo Agostini
Adrian Newey

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Giacomo Agostini, Dutch MotoGP 2011
Colin McRae in the Skoda Fabia WRC
John Surtees (UK) 1964 Ferrari 1512
Adrian Newey (GBR), Red Bull Racing, Technical Operations Director
Robert Kubica,  Maciej S zczepaniak (Ford Fiesta RS WRC, #24 RK M-Sport World Rally Team)
Robert Kubica,  Maciej S zczepaniak (Ford Fiesta RS WRC, #24 RK M-Sport World Rally Team)
Hayden Paddon, John Kennard (Hyundai i20 WRC, #20 Hyundai Motorsport N)
Hayden Paddon, John Kennard (Hyundai i20 WRC, #20 Hyundai Motorsport N)
Ott Tanak (EST) Kuldar (EST), Ford Fiesta R5, M-Sport World Rally Team
Elfyn Evans, Daniel Barrit (Ford Fiesta WRC, #6 M-Sport World Rally Team)
Red Bull RB11
Daniel Ricciardo (AUS) Red Bull Racing RB11.
01.03.2015. F
Daniel Ricciardo (AUS) Red Bull Racing RB11.
Daniel Ricciardo (AUS) Red Bull Racing RB11.
Daniel Ricciardo (AUS) Red Bull Racing RB11.
Daniel Ricciardo (AUS) Red Bull Racing RB11.
Daniel Ricciardo (AUS) Red Bull Racing RB11.
Daniel Ricciardo (AUS) Red Bull Racing RB11.

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.