McLaren's Jenson Button has won the Australian Grand Prix, the opening round in the F1 2012 World Championship.

Button took the lead at the start and then controlled the race, despite a safety car period in the final third of the race, which closed up the pack and allowed Sebastian Vettel to jump ahead of Lewis Hamilton into second.

Behind Mark Webber was fourth, followed by Fernando Alonso, Kamui Kobayashi, Kimi Raikkonen and Sergio Perez. Daniel Ricciardo and Paul di Resta completed the points' scorers. Pastor Maldonado meanwhile crashed out on the final lap while chasing Alonso for fifth, while Nico Rosberg also lost out on the chaotic last tour and slipped down to 12th.

To read the full report - CLICK HERE

To see the full result - CLICK HERE


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment