McLaren drivers Lewis Hamilton and Jenson Button will again line up 1-2 for a grand prix in 2012, after annexing the front row for the second round of the championship in Malaysia.

Hamilton again had the luxury of aborting his second run as those behind him failed to find enough time to depose the Briton, but Button had to dig deep after successive laps from Michael Schumacher, Mark Webber and Kimi Raikkonen pushed him back to fifth. Although the Lotus man was due to take a penalty for an unscheduled gearbox change, Button produced the goods, summoning up a final lap good enough to bring him within a couple of tenths of Hamilton.

Schumacher will line up third, one place up on his Australian grid slot, with Webber completing row two after again out-gunning world champion team-mate Sebastian Vettel. The German will be the first to benefit from Raikkonen's punishment by moving into fifth, ahead of Romain Grosjean, a disappointed Nico Rosberg - who sole lap was again scruffy - and Fernando Alonso. Raikkonen slots into tenth behind Sauber's Sergio Perez, this week's surprise inclusion in the shoot-out.

Full report and times to follow....