F1 »

F1 2012 driver salaries published – who earns the most?

An up-to-date list of F1 driver salaries has been published, revealing just who is being paid what...
The annual list of F1 salaries has again been published, with Fernando Alonso again leading the way, while Sebastian Vettel is down in joint fourth, taking home the same as the likes of his team-mate, Mark Webber, as well as Nico Rosberg and current struggler, Felipe Massa.

The report – published by Spanish newspaper El Mundo and citing information compiled by Business Book GP – revealed that Alonso remains on a retainer of €30 million, although this will of course be supplemented by external endorsements.

The Spaniard's salary is twice that of his former team-mate, Lewis Hamilton, although the McLaren driver is coming to the end of his current deal and could be set for a big rise, if recent reports are to be believed [see separate story - HERE]. Even if he does get that rise though, he will remain second to Alonso, on €22 million...

Jenson Button now reportedly earns the same as his fellow countryman, also taking home €16 million, while Vettel, Webber, Rosberg and Massa are all on €10 million, €2 million a year more than Michael Schumacher.

Kimi Raikkonen, who has returned to the sport this season with Lotus, is now on €5 million – a massive cut compared to the €16 million he use to command while at Ferrari, while Heikki Kovalainen and Timo Glock take home €4 and €3 million respectively from Caterham and Marussia.

Further back, Paul di Resta looks a bargain for only €200,000, placing him behind his team-mate, Nico Hulkenberg, Sergio Perez, Vitaly Petrov and Pedro de la Rosa, all on €500,000, as well as Pastor Maldonado, Daniel Ricciardo and Jean-Eric Vergne on €400,000 and Bruno Senna and Narain Karthikeyan on €250,000. Rookie Charles Pic is bottom, 'only' on €150,000.


1. Fernando Alonso Ferrari €30m
2. Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes €16m
= Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes €16m
4. Sebastian Vettel Red Bull Racing €10m
= Mark Webber Red Bull Racing €10m
= Felipe Massa Ferrari €10m
= Nico Rosberg Mercedes €10m
8. Michael Schumacher Mercedes €8m
9. Kimi Raikkonen Lotus F1 Team €5m
10. Heikki Kovalainen Caterham F1 Team €4m
11. Timo Glock Marussia F1 Team €3m
12. Kamui Kobayashi Sauber €1m
= Romain Grosjean Lotus F1 Team €1m
14. Nico Hulkenberg Force India F1 €500,000
= Sergio Perez Sauber €500,000
= Vitaly Petrov Caterham F1 Team €500,000
= Pedro de la Rosa HRT €500,000
18. Pastor Maldonado Williams €400,000
= Daniel Ricciardo Scuderia Toro Rosso €400,000
= Jean-Eric Vergne Scuderia Toro Rosso €400,000
21. Bruno Senna Williams €250,000
= Narain Karthikeyan HRT €250,000
23. Paul di Resta Force India F1 €200,000
24. Charles Pic Marussia €150,000

What the F1 teams spent on drivers in 2012:

1. Ferrari €40m
2. McLaren-Mercedes €32m
3. Red Bull Racing €20m
4. Mercedes €18m
5. Lotus F1 Team €6m
6. Caterham F1 Team €4.5m
7. Marussia €3.15m
8. Sauber €1.5m
9. Scuderia Toro Rosso €800,000
10. HRT €750,000
11. Force India €700,000
12. Williams €650,000

To compare to the 2011 salaries, CLICK HERE

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Jenson Button (GBR) McLaren Mercedes
Drivers Photograph, F1 Class of 2012
Drivers Photograph, Class of 2012

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.