Fernando Alonso wins the European Grand Prix for Ferrari and becomes the first repeat winner of F1 2012.

Alonso, who started a lowly eleventh, made a great start and then made the most of a mid-race safety car period to pass Romain Grosjean for second, a position that later became first when Sebastian Vettel, who had dominated the first half of the race, was forced to retire. Grosjean also had to pull out a few laps later due to an alternator failure.

That left Alonso up front chased by Lewis Hamilton and Kimi Raikkonen, although in the end neither could deny the Spaniard victory in front of his home fans. The result gives Alonso the lead in the drivers' championship.

Raikkonen meanwhile came through to take the runners-up spot for Lotus, with Michael Schumacher gaining the final spot on the podium, when Hamilton and Pastor Maldonado made contact late on. It is Schumacher's first rostrum result since coming out of retirement with Mercedes.

Mark Webber took fourth, ahead of Nico Hulkenberg, Nico Rosberg and Paul di Resta in positions 5 through to 7. Jenson Button and Sergio Perez were eighth and ninth, with Maldonado limping home in tenth after losing his nose following the incident with Lewis on the penultimate lap.

To read the full report - CLICK HERE

To see the full result - CLICK HERE